Skip to main content

Anna's Beauty, Or Reason #265 Why My Niece is Awesome

Last night we went up to my sister-in-law's house to meet our newest niece. And in between oohing and ahhing over her indisputable adorableness, I got to take a peek at my oldest niece's bookshelves. Anna's twelve and a reader. The real deal. And I'll admit that I got a little thrill when I saw that she owns not one but two copies of Robin McKinley's BeautyI had to take a pic of the one edition, because I've never actually seen a copy in real life, and, because, really, it's too spectacularly 80s for words:
I feel compelled to point out how appalled this particular Beauty would be at this representation of herself. But otherwise? Yup. Too spectacularly 80s for words.

Comments

  1. That's the same cover they had at the library when I first read this as a kid! :)

    Such a great book.

    ReplyDelete
  2. That cover is so romance-novelish feel! Too cute though that she had two copies. :) I haven't read this one in years, but I loved it so much that when I see young readers catch on to it again, it makes me very happy!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Is it just me or does the lovely scrollwork behind her head make her look like she has really long orange horns?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Lol Melissa, I didn't notice that until you pointed it out! Dated covers are the best. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  5. So true! The scene where she won't leave her room all dressed up is one of my favorites.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Kristen, really? That's hilarious. I'm still sort of stunned at how . . . pink . . . it is.

    Becky, isn't it? I wonder what they were thinking. I know what you mean, too. I'm still tickled that she owns two copies.

    Melissa, HA! I hadn't noticed it until you pointed it out. But now? All I can see.

    Holly, the BEST.

    Misti, oh, yes! I adore that scene. Gah, I may have to go re-read right now.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have two copies of Beauty too! But I love how vintage that cover looks. Also, I think it's awesome that your niece loves Robin McKinley. <3

    ReplyDelete
  8. This brings me all sort of delight I cannot even describe.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan