Skip to main content

A North & South Celebration

Morning, guys! Today I'm over at Melanie's Musings helping to wrap up her fabulous North & South Celebration. Melanie (aware of my strong feelings for the series) kindly invited me to contribute a post to her two-week-long love letter to all things North & South. So I'm talking about the study in contrasts that sucked me in and made me a permanent fangirl of the series. We'd love it if you stopped in to say hi and tell us why you love it, too.

Comments

  1. I just finished reading north and south for the first time. I finally decided that after watching the movie a million times, I probably should read the book. I almost never like to see the movie before reading the book, but in this case, being able to picture Richard Armitage the entire length of the book was heavenly. sigh sigh sigh. Maybe I need to watch the movie again today because the laundry can wait but Richard can not...."Look back at me!" sigh

    ReplyDelete
  2. Liz, nice job reading the book! Oh, the "Look back at me" scene. Something clamps down hard on my heart whenever I watch it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. So...I added this on Netflix because since I loved and watched Downton Abbey, Netflix recommended this to me! I will go and read your post! I need to watch this show!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yup. Veeeeery good bet if you love Downton, you'll love this.

      Delete
  4. Love this series! I might have to re-watch it during the long wait for Downton Abbey season 3!

    - W.L.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. W.L., perfect use of that long stretch of time.

      Delete
  5. I must have watched the ending of North & South 20 times!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I LOVE that series!!!! I did not know that there was a celebration going on!! I will definitely be checking it out! YAY!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Meg, harooyah (as my son would say)!

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's