Skip to main content

Ender's Game Movie

As Leila said in her post, I have conflicting feelings about the upcoming film adaptation of Ender's Game. My nervousness exists on several levels. I'm almost apoplectically excited, and I'm simultaneously terrified they'll botch the job. But these cast pictures sure do give a person reason to hope. Petra, Alai, Bean! Whaddya think?

Comments

  1. CUTE kids! Bean is adorable! Ender looks like a mini Elijah Wood. Yes, the casting looks great, but I think it's time for a re-read since I can't remember half of these characters. Good thing it's coming up for book club! :)

    P.S. I agree... I'm scared. Keeping fingers crossed they don't ruin it. I have the same feeling about The Book Thief which it's being rumored about becoming a movie too. Very scary.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! Bean . . .

      Reading EG for the first time was a very visceral experience for me. It's ingrained in my memory. I really am SO excited.

      And THE BOOK THIEF movie? YIKES.

      Delete
  2. I'm with Suey. It's time for a re-read. I haven't read this book since it appeared as an optional summer read before 9th grade Honors English began. THEN I think I can form a better opinion on what I wish/hope/want for the movie. Here's hoping.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You read it long before I did then. But I came late to the game. *fingerscrossed*

      Delete
  3. Todd and I are both nervous, but cautiously optimistic. The Ender/Bean series are one of our all-time favorite book series.

    Card has been working on turning it into a movie for years, and it sounds like he's being very careful that the movie does the book justice. Here's hoping!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Kristi, Aaron and I love them as well. He's the one who got me to read EG in the first place. The whole series is great.

      Delete
  4. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Such high expectations here. SO easy to be let down with a film adaptation of one of my all time favorite sci-fi books. So yeah, mixture of excitement and caution. Kids look great and Asa can act. Bean is adorable and spot on. Thanks for keeping us appraised of the progress

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Kim, it is. I know. The expectation game can be a brutal one. But I really was encouraged by the pics. They look awesome.

      Delete
  6. I just finished a reread (audio version) and I think that first time is always the best. I'm kind of excited, except the author had some commentary at the end and stated a movie would be hard to adapt and audio is one of the best ways to experience the book. But Bean and Petra look amazing - I hope it turns out well!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Melissa, I really can't imagine being the author of a book being adapted to film. I don't know how I'd sleep at night!

      Delete
  7. This was THE book of my childhood. I've probably reread it more than any other novel. After years of rumors about a movie, I hope they do the book justice.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. JoLee, that makes me smile. You will be an authority on whether or not the film lives up.

      Delete
  8. I'm totally nervous as well, and trying not to get my hopes up. Personally, I didn't like Asa Butterfeild in Hugo, and that has me extremely hesitant about his role in Ender's Game.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Heidi, probably best to go in with contained expectations. I haven't actually seen Hugo. My husband and son did and they really liked it. But Ender is an utterly different role, to be sure.

      Delete
  9. This is a book I hold near and dear as well, although I was one of the few that loved Speaker more than EG. excited about much of the casting, although I have yet to see Hugo myself so I can't comment on the choice for Ender. A little concerned about Viola Davis as Anderson, though--not because of her, but because that character (a man in the book!) needs some callousness. I think they're casting her to ride the train of her popularity after The Help, and casting like that makes me cranky.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jolie, I think SPEAKER is the best book in the series for sure. I'm so glad he wrote it. I haven't seen The Help yet, as I haven't read the book yet. So hard to go ahead and dive into those massively popular mainstream books. But it's on my shelf and sometime I'll have to see what the fuss is about.

      Delete
    2. I know what you mean about avoiding the massively popular books! Luckily I read The Help before it was too huge so I didn't have the internal hurdle to get over--although sometimes the reverse problem happens, and a book I loved early on becomes massively popular and then I find myself questioning if it was really as good as I remember...because if the masses love it, maybe it's not really good. Perverse of me, I know!

      Truthfully, I listened to The Help, and that's really my recommendation--all that dialect works great I audio form, but is painful to read. (in my opinion). So if you've got a long car trip, give it a go then.

      Oh, and psyched that you loved Speaker! Hooray! It doesn't get the love it deserves.

      Delete
  10. Looks awesome! I understand and share your nervousness. I also enjoyed the shoutout to The American President. Well done. =)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Cam, yay! I was wondering if anyone would pick up on that. That line always makes me snicker.

      Delete
  11. Oh, wow. Love the cast pictures. Looks promising, as books to movies go.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …