Skip to main content

YAckety YAck

Remember awhile back when I posted the rants and raves proceedings of my Super Secret Book Group's take on The Fault in Our Stars? Well, we've got shiny new digs now, and our latest YAck is up. This month we digested Laini Taylor's lauded Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and the results were interesting to say the least. I held off on reviewing this one back when I originally read it because my emotions . . . they were complex. The YAckers read was the perfect opportunity to process them. So if you're looking for a diversion, drop on by and find out why the angelfatuation rubbed me seven kinds of wrong, who ate it up with a spoon, who was conflicted, and whether or not I was "the lone downer" as Donna put it.

Comments

  1. Definitely following the YAckers escapades!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have a "lone downer" sign if you want to borrow it. I can make copies.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Donna, I'll take two. One for me and one to hand out when the occasion requires.

      Delete
  3. Just read over there. While I did end up liking the book, the instalove thing got to me too. I know there was a justification for it, but still, I didn't find Akiva a compelling love interest.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Emilia, in general instalove bugs me. It can work in some cases, but this was sadly not one of them. He wasn't compelling. He should never have fallen for her.

      Delete
  4. Hah, lone downer. I definitely have to laugh a little at that.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've definitely been the lone downer on certain books, but I loved this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know you did! It makes me feel worse. I don't know what happened but I fell out of love along the way.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan