Skip to main content

YAckety YAck

Remember awhile back when I posted the rants and raves proceedings of my Super Secret Book Group's take on The Fault in Our Stars? Well, we've got shiny new digs now, and our latest YAck is up. This month we digested Laini Taylor's lauded Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and the results were interesting to say the least. I held off on reviewing this one back when I originally read it because my emotions . . . they were complex. The YAckers read was the perfect opportunity to process them. So if you're looking for a diversion, drop on by and find out why the angelfatuation rubbed me seven kinds of wrong, who ate it up with a spoon, who was conflicted, and whether or not I was "the lone downer" as Donna put it.

Comments

  1. Definitely following the YAckers escapades!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have a "lone downer" sign if you want to borrow it. I can make copies.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Donna, I'll take two. One for me and one to hand out when the occasion requires.

      Delete
  3. Just read over there. While I did end up liking the book, the instalove thing got to me too. I know there was a justification for it, but still, I didn't find Akiva a compelling love interest.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Emilia, in general instalove bugs me. It can work in some cases, but this was sadly not one of them. He wasn't compelling. He should never have fallen for her.

      Delete
  4. Hah, lone downer. I definitely have to laugh a little at that.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've definitely been the lone downer on certain books, but I loved this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know you did! It makes me feel worse. I don't know what happened but I fell out of love along the way.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan