Skip to main content

Saturday Giggles: Song of the Lioness Version



I'm pausing mid-fit of laughter to link you over to the source of my mirth. If you haven't heard of Mark Reads yet, you should possibly go check it out. Today (thanks to Li), I ran across his take on Chapter 2 of The Woman Who Rides Like a Man--book two in my beloved Song of the Lioness series by Tamora Pierce. I can't handle the awesome. Enjoy and have a good weekend!

Comments

  1. His recaps are BRILLIANT, aren't they?? I need to make some time to read his previous posts on the earlier books.

    And I obviously want to re-read the all my Alanna books NOW.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. TOO funny. Thanks again for the heads up!

      Delete
  2. HILARIOUS. Although I will never be able to reread that book without his commentary in my head!

    ReplyDelete
  3. hahaha. this is really entertaining!:D

    ReplyDelete
  4. *Giggle*...

    Angie, I didn't really know where else to post this, so I'll just comment with it! If you're interested, my blog is having a "Christmas Tale" blog event for Decemeber and I'd like to invite you! Since you love to read and review, thought you might enjoy it. :) Happy reading. http://lmsherwin.com/a-christmas-tale-blog-event-sign-up/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hey thanks for the heads up! I'll click on over and check it out.

      Delete
  5. I love the Mark Reads thing--his takes on Harry Potter cracked me up for hours. Good call, Angie.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ahh, how did I not know about this fabulousness?! Thanks :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan