Skip to main content

"I'll always long for your asking me."

It's a new year, a clean slate. And I like to think of it as such, quietly absorbing the possibilities as I quietly restrain myself from attempting to make overly ambitious resolutions that I will only renege on or fail at miserably within a month's time. As I cast about for some possibility, some inspiration, I came across an unlikely source: literary break-up letters. This fascinating article in The Atlantic features excerpts and background information from eight different writers penning their parting words to lovers, spouses, more-than-friends. Luminaries include Simone de Beauvoir (whose line I used in my post title), Virginia Woolf, Edith Wharton, Oscar Wilde, Mary Wollstonecraft, and more. They are wistful and so very real. Just the kind of real I needed at this time of cold, quiet beginnings. I hope your year is full of possibilities. And if there must be partings, let them be well-written.

Comments

  1. I know what you mean. It's so easy to be overly ambitious when we are so optimistic about the upcoming year and our abilities. I'm still assessing what I want to accomplish reading-wise this year. I think just more older books and adult books. I've been feeling a little burnt out on YA stuff. Oh, and I want to read the Sevenwaters books.

    Good luck to you, whatever you decide on, Angie. I know you'll rock it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You know I never make reading goals? Outside of a few classics I want to get to each year, that is. But I watch everyone participating in a host of reading challenges and am all amazement and admiration. These days I go where the wind takes me. I understand about the burnout though. I think I've been feeling a bit of it as well.

      But you WILL NOT REGRET reading the Sevenwaters books. That I can promise you, Flann. And I really want to be around while the whole thing is going down!!

      Delete
  2. Oh my. Now people break up with text messages. :) It seems like letters are a lost art form. Does anybody write them anymore? I like to send thank you notes in the the mail, but that's about it. Of course, maybe it's just that I lack someone to write to? :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha! How things have changed. I think you're right though. We're not separated the way people used to be. Those letters written and sent across physical and emotional distances were truly lifelines, I think. I certainly enjoyed reading these.

      Delete
  3. Thanks for this Angie. It was exactly what I needed.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love old letters, and old love letters are awesome! Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So do I, Jen. These were especially so.

      Delete
  5. Talk about well written. *shudders with chills* You've inspired me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aren't they? Inspired was exactly how I felt after reading them.

      Delete
    2. Yes they were. But I meant your words.

      Delete
    3. Well, shucks. ;)

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan