Skip to main content

"I'll always long for your asking me."

It's a new year, a clean slate. And I like to think of it as such, quietly absorbing the possibilities as I quietly restrain myself from attempting to make overly ambitious resolutions that I will only renege on or fail at miserably within a month's time. As I cast about for some possibility, some inspiration, I came across an unlikely source: literary break-up letters. This fascinating article in The Atlantic features excerpts and background information from eight different writers penning their parting words to lovers, spouses, more-than-friends. Luminaries include Simone de Beauvoir (whose line I used in my post title), Virginia Woolf, Edith Wharton, Oscar Wilde, Mary Wollstonecraft, and more. They are wistful and so very real. Just the kind of real I needed at this time of cold, quiet beginnings. I hope your year is full of possibilities. And if there must be partings, let them be well-written.

Comments

  1. I know what you mean. It's so easy to be overly ambitious when we are so optimistic about the upcoming year and our abilities. I'm still assessing what I want to accomplish reading-wise this year. I think just more older books and adult books. I've been feeling a little burnt out on YA stuff. Oh, and I want to read the Sevenwaters books.

    Good luck to you, whatever you decide on, Angie. I know you'll rock it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You know I never make reading goals? Outside of a few classics I want to get to each year, that is. But I watch everyone participating in a host of reading challenges and am all amazement and admiration. These days I go where the wind takes me. I understand about the burnout though. I think I've been feeling a bit of it as well.

      But you WILL NOT REGRET reading the Sevenwaters books. That I can promise you, Flann. And I really want to be around while the whole thing is going down!!

      Delete
  2. Oh my. Now people break up with text messages. :) It seems like letters are a lost art form. Does anybody write them anymore? I like to send thank you notes in the the mail, but that's about it. Of course, maybe it's just that I lack someone to write to? :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha! How things have changed. I think you're right though. We're not separated the way people used to be. Those letters written and sent across physical and emotional distances were truly lifelines, I think. I certainly enjoyed reading these.

      Delete
  3. Thanks for this Angie. It was exactly what I needed.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love old letters, and old love letters are awesome! Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So do I, Jen. These were especially so.

      Delete
  5. Anonymous3:39 PM

    Talk about well written. *shudders with chills* You've inspired me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aren't they? Inspired was exactly how I felt after reading them.

      Delete
    2. Anonymous12:21 PM

      Yes they were. But I meant your words.

      Delete
    3. Well, shucks. ;)

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan