Skip to main content

Tuesday Giggles: All-Time Hotties of PBS Version

Because I am stressed today and need a good grin, you get the All-Time Hottest Hunks of PBS. A few of the usual suspects are there (Cumberbatch, Branagh, Isaacs, Stevens, always a pleasure) as well as a few unexpected gems as demonstrated above (Jeremy Irons + Anthony Andrews = the whole package). Best of all, they are there for all the right reasons. Rocks a tweed. Good stubble. Broods attractively. You get the picture. Happy browsing!

Comments

  1. LOL - I saw this list a few days ago and I think it's great. I do love me some PBS. And wow! about Jeremy Irons. It almost makes me sad that I was much to young to appreaciate him back in 1982. :)
    Good luck with the stress. I hope tomorrow is better for you.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me, too, Misti! He was much older when I first ran across him. More's the pity . . .

      Delete
  2. A great list!!!! Ooo la la!!!
    I hope today goes better for you and you feel less stressed.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol! Thanks, Lin. This was a step in the right direction. ;)

      Delete
  3. Thank you. Sincerely, thank you.


    (Here's for a more relaxed tomorrow)

    ReplyDelete
  4. This list made my day, Angie! It's kinda the truest list ever. And I LOVE that Laurence Fox got number 1--I'm always pushing that show on everybody.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Huzzah!

      I knew that #1 slot would get you. It's still on my list to get to!

      Delete
  5. I love PBS. Endeavor is a good show, it seems like Inspector Lewis might be over and this one is supposed to fill the void? Also: I laughed when they described Jason Isaacs' "cute little sticky-outy ears".

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't actually seen Endeavor, so good to hear it's good. I have a good friend who's doing her best to get me to start Inspector Lewis posthaste.

      The ears comment -- hilarious.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …