Skip to main content

All the Books for You

Some mornings when I'm up early and it's just me and my oldest boy awake in the house, wandering around pulling out cereal bowls and wiping away sleep, I pull my feet up on my chair and I start telling him about the book that kept me up late the night before. I tell him about the parts I know he might connect with, that might start the beginnings of a smile on the corner of his face the way they do on mine. Like when Park lets Eleanor read X-Men comics over his shoulder on the bus. Or how Puck and Sean Kendrick ride Corr above the bloodthirsty beaches of Thisby. Or that golden day when Peter and Tiger Lily lie in the tall grass and watch the wild horses run.

But then when he inevitably asks if he can read it as soon as I'm done, I'm forced to answer sometimes that he can't. More often than not because there's some little thing in it, some element, some dialogue, some scene that makes it so I can't just hand it to my 10-year-old boy. And I feel sad. I want to share every good book I read with him right then. I want to let those scenes land inside him and watch his eyes light and his corners smile and talk about them with him in those early mornings when it's just the two of us awake. I know it will all come in time. It's just sometimes I'm bad at being patient. But someday. I know.

Someday all the books, Will. All the books for you.

Comments

  1. Aww Angie, this is so sweet. I love that your kids are readers too. Someday! When that time comes, you'll probably be surprised at how fast they're growing up.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Angie, I feel your pain! btw: I would love for this to become a standing element in all your reviews--youngest age you would allow to read it OR appropriate for X and older, etc. I know we all have different standards/values/whatevers that make some books OK for our kids and others not OK, but I would love your opinion.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Lucky you! I wish I could talk about books with my son, but alas, he is not interested at all.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks, Chachic. And I know you're right. That time will come and they'll be such grown-ups I won't know what to do with myself!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I bet you do, Sally! I've tossed around the notion of something along those lines because you're not the first person to ask. I haven't implemented something yet because I struggle to hand out definitive or blanket rankings or recommendations (hence the no star system, etc). But I know they would be helpful to many. *ponders*

    ReplyDelete
  6. Lol. How old is he, Marg? Would he be interested in graphic novels at all? Sometimes they're the gateway drug . . . haha.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Aw, what a beautiful sentiment. Just lovely. And I'm in the same boat, except that my girl is only six, so I have that much longer to wait. But it'll be worth it to see her smile in that same way. =)

    ReplyDelete
  8. He is 15. We have tried gaming type novels but apparently it is too boring reading a book. The look on my face must have been one of mortification!

    ReplyDelete
  9. This is a lovely post! It's cool how you connect with your son through reading, even if the books aren't quite appropriate for him yet, someday, they will be.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Ha! I can see it now.

    ReplyDelete
  11. They will. And I know how lucky I am that he already loves reading as much as he does.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan