Skip to main content

Book Giveaway: Wide Open, Deep Down, & Strange Country by Deborah Coates


To celebrate the release of Strange Country—the third book in Deborah Coates' rural fantasy/paranormal mystery trilogy (how's that for a mashup of awesome?)—Tor Books has been gracious enough to offer up a set containing the complete trilogy. I have yet to read this series, but two things immediately caught my eye. The first is the enticing Sharon Shinn quote on the cover:
Twin Peaks meets Dean Koontz in this tale of a windswept northern prairie town beset by eerie events. Deborah Coates offers a pitch-perfect sense of place, an uncanny knack for dialogue, and a complex heroine who's mad, sad, tenacious, and tough.
Yes, please. The second is the term "rural fantasy." In my mind, I place it somewhere in the vicinity of Ilona Andrews' Edge series, which they termed "rustic fantasy." Either way, I can't wait to start this series and see.


This giveaway is open to those with U.S. or Canada mailing addresses. To enter, fill out the Rafflecopter. The giveaway will be open through Tuesday, June 10th.

Comments

  1. these covers are gorgeous. I haven't heard of these yet, but I'm thinking I'll put them on my massive TBR pile. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'd love a chance to read this series :) I'd recommend Ilona Andrew's The Edge series :) Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't started this series either, but those two things you pointed out are honestly just as enticing to me! I consider myself to be a pretty big fantasy fan, yet I've never heard of rural fantasy. Craziness! It sounds like maybe it's like urban fantasy but in the country? I have no recommendations now, but I will definitely be looking more into this subgenre!
    And thank you for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is the first time I've heard of rural fantasy. I didn't know it was a sub-genre.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I loved the first book in this series. Check out John the Balladeer by Manly Wade Wellman or The Hum and the shiver by Alex Bledsoe for other rural fantasy. Both of these are set in the Appalachian mountains vs. the plains of the Midwest.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I read and liked the first book, and already own the second! I'm into it.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have never heard of rural fantasy before (although I am quite familiar with urban fantasy...) so I'm not even sure which books that I have read would be classified in that category. Perhaps The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater? If so, I enjoyed that one quite a lot :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I loved the first 2 books in the series. I'm pretty jazzed that we get Boyd's POV in 'Strange Country.' As for a rec - this series really has been my gateway into the genre. I've never been a fan of urban (or the rural subgenre) fantasy, although Anne Bishop's 'The Others' series comes to mind.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…