Skip to main content

Book Giveaway: Wide Open, Deep Down, & Strange Country by Deborah Coates


To celebrate the release of Strange Country—the third book in Deborah Coates' rural fantasy/paranormal mystery trilogy (how's that for a mashup of awesome?)—Tor Books has been gracious enough to offer up a set containing the complete trilogy. I have yet to read this series, but two things immediately caught my eye. The first is the enticing Sharon Shinn quote on the cover:
Twin Peaks meets Dean Koontz in this tale of a windswept northern prairie town beset by eerie events. Deborah Coates offers a pitch-perfect sense of place, an uncanny knack for dialogue, and a complex heroine who's mad, sad, tenacious, and tough.
Yes, please. The second is the term "rural fantasy." In my mind, I place it somewhere in the vicinity of Ilona Andrews' Edge series, which they termed "rustic fantasy." Either way, I can't wait to start this series and see.


This giveaway is open to those with U.S. or Canada mailing addresses. To enter, fill out the Rafflecopter. The giveaway will be open through Tuesday, June 10th.

Comments

  1. these covers are gorgeous. I haven't heard of these yet, but I'm thinking I'll put them on my massive TBR pile. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'd love a chance to read this series :) I'd recommend Ilona Andrew's The Edge series :) Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't started this series either, but those two things you pointed out are honestly just as enticing to me! I consider myself to be a pretty big fantasy fan, yet I've never heard of rural fantasy. Craziness! It sounds like maybe it's like urban fantasy but in the country? I have no recommendations now, but I will definitely be looking more into this subgenre!
    And thank you for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is the first time I've heard of rural fantasy. I didn't know it was a sub-genre.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I loved the first book in this series. Check out John the Balladeer by Manly Wade Wellman or The Hum and the shiver by Alex Bledsoe for other rural fantasy. Both of these are set in the Appalachian mountains vs. the plains of the Midwest.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I read and liked the first book, and already own the second! I'm into it.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have never heard of rural fantasy before (although I am quite familiar with urban fantasy...) so I'm not even sure which books that I have read would be classified in that category. Perhaps The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater? If so, I enjoyed that one quite a lot :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I loved the first 2 books in the series. I'm pretty jazzed that we get Boyd's POV in 'Strange Country.' As for a rec - this series really has been my gateway into the genre. I've never been a fan of urban (or the rural subgenre) fantasy, although Anne Bishop's 'The Others' series comes to mind.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan