Skip to main content

A Lily Among Thorns Re-release!


You guys. Today marks the re-release of one of my all-time favorite historicals! Rose Lerner's wonderful A Lily Among Thorns has been out of print (woe, desolation) ever since the Dorchester fiasco. But, happily, Samhain picked it up and re-released it in ebook form with a few minor revisions and a new cover. A paperback edition will follow next year. For the curious, you can read the prologue and first chapter here. And for the even curiouser, you can read my original review here. As I frequently remark, Ms. Lerner's characters are people I would want to know and keep in my life. And Serena and Solomon are my very favorites. 

To celebrate the re-release, Rose has posted a free tie-in short story featuring Solomon's little sister and her husband. She's also running a Lily gift basket giveaway. So be sure to stop in to check out all the fun goodies.


Buy

Comments

  1. Yay!! I think I added this to my to-read list even before I first started reading romance. Something about it just called to me and I've wanted to pick it up. Good news indeed!

    ReplyDelete
  2. That is a Good Life Choice, Heidi.

    ReplyDelete
  3. What is the time period of this book? The old cover makes it seem so Austen-esque, but orange dress doesn't quite scream regency era!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yes, the old cover really did give off that Austen vibe. The new cover is a bit more accurate, I think. And, you know, I mislabeled this. It's Victorian era, not regency. Solomon's brother fought in the Napoleonic Wars.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan