Skip to main content

The Boy Most Likely To(ur)!


Welcome to Day #10 of The Boy Most Likely To(ur)!

To celebrate the release of The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick (8/18/15), 10 blogs across the web will be featuring exclusive content from Huntley, as well as a chance to win a YA Goodie Basket in the Grand Prize Giveaway! Today, Huntley shares her experiences as a romance editor!

My Day as a Romance Editor

“Huntley spent her college years majoring in Shakespeare and completing a minor in daydreaming, following which she spent time working as a waitress, a caterer, a publicist's minion, a bartender, an account firm assistant, romance novel editor, and co-owner of a café.”

That’s My Working Life in my official bio—the quick non-resume sum-up of what I did before I could write “Author” under “occupation”.  I left a few jobs out, because they were too painful to recall—like the single day I spent wearing a sandwich board to advertise a local dry-cleaner—the dog-chef job advertised as “must work well with sirloin”, etc…

But romance editor—except for writing, that was, and is, my. best.job.ever. I did it unpaid for a few months when I first started, and if it hadn’t been for the national-debt size rent of my refrigerator-sized NYC apartment and stuff like food and electricity, I could have kept on going with that. I would have paid THEM.

That I practically ran, heels, heavy backpack, Grand Central station commuters and all, to work sounds like hyperbole, but it isn’t. I took six or seven slush manuscripts with me on vacation FOR FUN. Office meetings? Those things everyone dreads? I sure didn’t, when the things up for discussion were whether the Navy Seal trend has been overdone (answer, no sir!), whether an author’s brilliant but offbeat romance was a flash in the pan or the beginning of a new genre, and how to wage another assault on the public perception that romances are lightweight books that no serious reader would read and no talented author would write. I battled that view in my own life—friends or family asking when I was going to get a real job with real books. But by the end of my second day on the job I was light years beyond being embarrassed by contributing to the world of romance. Why apologize, ever, for helping happy endings fall into the hands of those who love them and need them. (God knows I did, and do).

I loved my colleagues—smart, funny, no-nonsense, literate. I loved the fact that there was no such thing as “a typical day” at work. But most of all: the authors. Reader, I loved them. And all the different ways I had to interact with them as part of my editor job. I got to call and talk to authors whose books I could quote whole paragraphs from (I swear, I only actually did that once or twice). I had authors who were assigned to me exclusively, which meant I got to follow their books through germ of an idea to polished manuscript handed to the printer, to watch all the work and heartache and commitment and love that went into that process. I got to call new authors—to make “the call” to tell them we wanted their manuscript—and that is one of the top ten best feelings in the world, listening to that long, indrawn shaky breath when they first hear those words. That’s the sound of someone’s dream coming true—and you get to hear it. I also had to call authors with bad news—that we couldn’t do their dream book, because it was too similar to another book we’d just signed, that the book of their heart hadn’t sold well, that this manuscript wasn’t up to par. And nine times out of ten, because there is something imperishable and indomitable about the urge to write, it would go like this… My reluctant statement of the bad news. Long slow breath out, hitching sigh from the author. Silence from both of us. Then, the author:…"Well, I guess we should talk about the next idea I have, where—"

Of all the lessons I learned at that beloved job, that’s the one that has stuck with me the most. That the difference between the long sigh of disappointment and the inhale of joy is just a few breaths, a few good ideas, a few thousand hours of writing and plotting and one essential thing: the belief that there is always, always room in the world for another love story.

Today is the last day of The Boy Most Likely To(ur)! Be sure to check out the other stops for more fun content and chances to win!

A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house. Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To... well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters. For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard. Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have. And Alice is caught in the middle. Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.
GRAND PRIZE GIVEAWAY
  • One (1) first prize winner will receive a YA Goodie Basket filled with all three of Huntley's books (The Boy Most Likely To, My Life Next Door, and What I Thought Was True), Pushing the Limits and Crash Into You by Katie McGarry, Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally, and The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith
  • Two (2) second prize winners will receive audiobooks of The Boy Most Likely To and What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick plus swag
  • Enter via the rafflecopter below
  • US/Canada Only
  • Ends 9/18 at midnight ET (TONIGHT!)
  • For the blog post comment entry, answer the question: Which couple from Huntley's books is your favorite (whether they're actually together in the books or not)?
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Blog Tour Schedule:
September 7th - Bookhounds YA
September 8th - Novel Novice
September 9th - YA Interrobang
September 10th - A Backwards Story
September 11th - Once Upon a Twilight
September 14th - A Life Bound By Books
September 15th - Alison Can Read
September 16th - Book Briefs
September 18th - Angieville

Comments

You Might Also Like

Interview with Alexandra Bracken + Brightly Woven Giveaway!

I fell in love with the cover of Alexandra Bracken's debut novel--Brightly Woven--last fall and the scant synopses I could find at the time certainly piqued my interest. After managing to get my hands on an ARC, I found myself surprised and pleased with this unique fantasy. You can read my review here. As the release date approached, I invited Alex to participate in an interview and giveaway here on the site and, despite her crazy busy schedule, she kindly accepted. Enjoy! First things first: When did the idea for Brightly Wovenfirst hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? I remember the exact moment it hit me—what I was doing, who I was talking to, what song was playing on iTunes.  :)  I had just come back from Winter Break my sophomore year in college and was sitting on my bed chatting with my mom.  Sophomore year was pretty remarkable in terms of the insane weather that we had in Virginia (where I was in school) but it had also been a bizarre year in Arizon…

Blog Tour Giveaway | An Artless Demise by Anna Lee Huber

Today marks the release of An Artless Demise―the seventh installment in Anna Lee Huber's excellent Lady Darby mystery series. I'm happy to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. This is a series I've enjoyed from the very beginning (you can read my review of the first book here). Be sure that Kiera and Gage are well worth your time, particularly if you are a fan of Deanna Raybourn or Tasha Alexander.

ABOUT THE BOOK Kiera’s return to London is anything but mundane after fleeing in infamy more than two years ago. While Kiera expected the whispers and murmurs inspired by her reappearance, she wasn’t prepared to receive a letter of blackmail, threatening to divulge the secrets of her past and implicating her in crimes she didn’t commit. A gang of body snatchers is arrested on suspicion of killing people from the streets and selling the bodies to medical schools, and Kiera is a perfect suspect for their crimes―after all, she was previously married…

E-book Alert | Life Without Friends by Ellen Emerson White

I have been waiting for this day for what feels like forever. If you've followed this blog for basically any length of time, you have heard me singing the praises of Ellen Emerson White. I am a devoted fan of her spectacular President's Daughter and Echo Company series. And you should read and own them and spread the good word immediately. But Life Without Friends. This book was the beginning for me. Beverly and Derek and Boston and the Public Gardens. From my review:
This book kind of ate me alive at fourteen, and I have reread it pretty much every year since. It has become what you might call a Monster Comfort Read. I have been buying up used copies of this previously out-of-print book for years now and sending them to readers I knew needed them. I am so delighted to let you know it's now available on Kindle for just $2.99 or free with Kindle Unlimited. And I really love the new Kindle cover (above left), while I will always be inordinately attached to the original cove…