Skip to main content

A Purely Subjective & Entirely Moody List of Valentine's Reads

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/412783122068554937/

I am an emphatically moody reader these days, guys. I know it can drive my close associates out of their minds (and rightly so), because handing me a book to read can often sometimes be the death knell on me ever actually reading it. It's an inexplicable and a tiresome truth, but unfortunately it's a real one. And so lately I've been thinking about what influences my moods. Some of it is seasonal, to be sure. Much of it is literally how a single day went before I was finally able to drag my tired body into bed and settle in to read myself into a better mood. With Valentine's Day approaching, I've been casting about for the right thing. Who knows what I'll be feeling like tonight, tomorrow, or Sunday? And so I've come up with a number of possibilities to fit this moment in time's particular moody bill. The truth is, I could likely sit down with any one of these this weekend. They are all lovely and romantic and residents of my Beloved Bookshelf. But which one will it be? And what will you be in the mood for? Anything strike your fancy?

If I'm feeling spiteful . . . Cruel Beauty, because he is never safe with her.

If I'm feeling nostalgic . . . Life Without Friends, because it has always meant so much.

If I'm feeling fragmented . . . Unsticky, because Grace & Vaughn are blisteringly flawed and beautiful.

If I'm feeling rakish . . . The Devil in Winter, because she grabs hold of her life and he falls in love with his wife.

If I'm feeling solitary . . . Emotional Geology, because Scotland. Also healing and Rose and Calum.

If I'm feeling cunning . . . The King of Attolia, because he became king because he wanted to marry her and she loves every single one of his ridiculous lies.

If I'm feeling haunted . . . A Certain Slant of Light, because it is arrestingly beautiful.

If I'm feeling lost . . . The Chocolate Touch, because Paris is a good place to fight your demons.

If I'm feeling fierce. . . Graceling, because Katsa is so incredibly strong. And because Po.

If I'm feeling tragic . . . The Song of Achilles, because it is exquisite agony and it left my cup full to the brim.

If I'm feeling whimsical . . . I've Got Your Number, because it is ineffably charming.

If I'm feeling star-crossed . . . Perfect Chemistry, because it's wrong side of the tracks, rising music, teenage angst.

If I'm feeling epic . . . The Well of Shades, because it is spies and constant peril, redemption and true love.

If I'm feeling ardent . . . The Raven Boys, because my happiness is inextricably tied to them. That's all there is.

Comments

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan