Skip to main content

A Purely Subjective & Entirely Moody List of Valentine's Reads

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/412783122068554937/

I am an emphatically moody reader these days, guys. I know it can drive my close associates out of their minds (and rightly so), because handing me a book to read can often sometimes be the death knell on me ever actually reading it. It's an inexplicable and a tiresome truth, but unfortunately it's a real one. And so lately I've been thinking about what influences my moods. Some of it is seasonal, to be sure. Much of it is literally how a single day went before I was finally able to drag my tired body into bed and settle in to read myself into a better mood. With Valentine's Day approaching, I've been casting about for the right thing. Who knows what I'll be feeling like tonight, tomorrow, or Sunday? And so I've come up with a number of possibilities to fit this moment in time's particular moody bill. The truth is, I could likely sit down with any one of these this weekend. They are all lovely and romantic and residents of my Beloved Bookshelf. But which one will it be? And what will you be in the mood for? Anything strike your fancy?

If I'm feeling spiteful . . . Cruel Beauty, because he is never safe with her.

If I'm feeling nostalgic . . . Life Without Friends, because it has always meant so much.

If I'm feeling fragmented . . . Unsticky, because Grace & Vaughn are blisteringly flawed and beautiful.

If I'm feeling rakish . . . The Devil in Winter, because she grabs hold of her life and he falls in love with his wife.

If I'm feeling solitary . . . Emotional Geology, because Scotland. Also healing and Rose and Calum.

If I'm feeling cunning . . . The King of Attolia, because he became king because he wanted to marry her and she loves every single one of his ridiculous lies.

If I'm feeling haunted . . . A Certain Slant of Light, because it is arrestingly beautiful.

If I'm feeling lost . . . The Chocolate Touch, because Paris is a good place to fight your demons.

If I'm feeling fierce. . . Graceling, because Katsa is so incredibly strong. And because Po.

If I'm feeling tragic . . . The Song of Achilles, because it is exquisite agony and it left my cup full to the brim.

If I'm feeling whimsical . . . I've Got Your Number, because it is ineffably charming.

If I'm feeling star-crossed . . . Perfect Chemistry, because it's wrong side of the tracks, rising music, teenage angst.

If I'm feeling epic . . . The Well of Shades, because it is spies and constant peril, redemption and true love.

If I'm feeling ardent . . . The Raven Boys, because my happiness is inextricably tied to them. That's all there is.

Comments

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan