Skip to main content

A Purely Subjective & Entirely Moody List of Valentine's Reads

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/412783122068554937/

I am an emphatically moody reader these days, guys. I know it can drive my close associates out of their minds (and rightly so), because handing me a book to read can often sometimes be the death knell on me ever actually reading it. It's an inexplicable and a tiresome truth, but unfortunately it's a real one. And so lately I've been thinking about what influences my moods. Some of it is seasonal, to be sure. Much of it is literally how a single day went before I was finally able to drag my tired body into bed and settle in to read myself into a better mood. With Valentine's Day approaching, I've been casting about for the right thing. Who knows what I'll be feeling like tonight, tomorrow, or Sunday? And so I've come up with a number of possibilities to fit this moment in time's particular moody bill. The truth is, I could likely sit down with any one of these this weekend. They are all lovely and romantic and residents of my Beloved Bookshelf. But which one will it be? And what will you be in the mood for? Anything strike your fancy?

If I'm feeling spiteful . . . Cruel Beauty, because he is never safe with her.

If I'm feeling nostalgic . . . Life Without Friends, because it has always meant so much.

If I'm feeling fragmented . . . Unsticky, because Grace & Vaughn are blisteringly flawed and beautiful.

If I'm feeling rakish . . . The Devil in Winter, because she grabs hold of her life and he falls in love with his wife.

If I'm feeling solitary . . . Emotional Geology, because Scotland. Also healing and Rose and Calum.

If I'm feeling cunning . . . The King of Attolia, because he became king because he wanted to marry her and she loves every single one of his ridiculous lies.

If I'm feeling haunted . . . A Certain Slant of Light, because it is arrestingly beautiful.

If I'm feeling lost . . . The Chocolate Touch, because Paris is a good place to fight your demons.

If I'm feeling fierce. . . Graceling, because Katsa is so incredibly strong. And because Po.

If I'm feeling tragic . . . The Song of Achilles, because it is exquisite agony and it left my cup full to the brim.

If I'm feeling whimsical . . . I've Got Your Number, because it is ineffably charming.

If I'm feeling star-crossed . . . Perfect Chemistry, because it's wrong side of the tracks, rising music, teenage angst.

If I'm feeling epic . . . The Well of Shades, because it is spies and constant peril, redemption and true love.

If I'm feeling ardent . . . The Raven Boys, because my happiness is inextricably tied to them. That's all there is.

Comments

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…