Skip to main content

In Which I Give the Throne of Glass Series Another Chance

Look, I knew this day was coming. I mean, there was a chance that it wouldn't. If I hadn't given in and read Sarah J. Maas' A Court of Thorns and Roses series, I might never have gone back and given the Throne of Glass series a second chance. Which would have been a dashed shame (more on that later). But reading Feyre's story and loving it in the precise way I did was the nail in the coffin of not returning to Celaena's story as well. Thank you, Reading Gods of Second Chances.

I think you're all familiar with my history with this series. In fact, some of you have a similar story. I snagged an ARC of Throne of Glass (one of the ones with the original terrible cover) at BEA way back in the day and started it almost immediately. I ran out of steam a ways in and gave up for lack of anything holding my interest. And, somehow, my reaction was strong enough to withstand literal years of ensuing hype and rave reviews from readers and writers I truly esteem. Finally, after finishing A Court of Wings and Ruin and being absolutely bereft, I gave in and started Crown of Midnight. I determined I would avoid any negative feelings associated with the first book (and the possibility of burning out again going over the same ground) by starting with the second book. It was a good call.

I know by now Ms. Maas knows how to pace an rip roaring tale and that I am wholly capable (inclined, even) to fall in love with her casts of characters. And this series has proven itself no different. I understand, guys. I understand now. I understood the moment I fell in love with Chaol Westfall (which was approximately the moment I read the words "Chaol stepped up to the line" and was permanently cemented the moment I read the words "Chaol sank to his knees") and accepted that my heart would be smashed into pieces at some not-distant-enough point in the future. Because I haven't been living under a hole these past few years. I know the doom my Chaol-loving heart faces. I don't care. I will always love the captain of the guard. That said, I finished Heir of Fire last night and I am kind of a fan of Rowan Whitethorn. And of the natural and measured progression his introduction into the series has taken. I expected a rush, and instead I got . . . well, just what it should be. What can I say? My heart is big enough to encompass what will come.

And, yes, it's utterly reprehensible ridiculous that it took me this long to eradicate the bee in my bonnet and dive back in. But I did it! And that's all that matters. Because now I have the singular pleasure of being smack dab in the middle of a full-on binge of the series. And the truth is, how often do I actually get to do that? It's rare, you guys. I am currently tearing my way through five not-slender novels and thoroughly enjoying every absorbed minute. I started Queen of Shadows last night and am 100 pages in, and I ordered the Target exclusive editions of both Empire of Storms and Tower of Dawn last night at midnight. Because, predictably, I have fallen down the fan art rabbit hole with this series, and I require the art in these special editions. I can't wait til they arrive! In fact, I'm worried I'll have finished Queen of Shadows before they do. Reader woes, you guys. I got 'em.

So . . . I'll keep you posted, you know? I'm so happy this happened right at the end of the year so that this series could bridge the old and the new for me and hopefully carry me over into the new year on an excellent reading high. What about you? Any second chance reads that worked out? I'd love to know. Here's to getting over ourselves and finding other people and other worlds we were meant to love.

Comments

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan