Skip to main content

In Which I Give the Throne of Glass Series Another Chance

Look, I knew this day was coming. I mean, there was a chance that it wouldn't. If I hadn't given in and read Sarah J. Maas' A Court of Thorns and Roses series, I might never have gone back and given the Throne of Glass series a second chance. Which would have been a dashed shame (more on that later). But reading Feyre's story and loving it in the precise way I did was the nail in the coffin of not returning to Celaena's story as well. Thank you, Reading Gods of Second Chances.

I think you're all familiar with my history with this series. In fact, some of you have a similar story. I snagged an ARC of Throne of Glass (one of the ones with the original terrible cover) at BEA way back in the day and started it almost immediately. I ran out of steam a ways in and gave up for lack of anything holding my interest. And, somehow, my reaction was strong enough to withstand literal years of ensuing hype and rave reviews from readers and writers I truly esteem. Finally, after finishing A Court of Wings and Ruin and being absolutely bereft, I gave in and started Crown of Midnight. I determined I would avoid any negative feelings associated with the first book (and the possibility of burning out again going over the same ground) by starting with the second book. It was a good call.

I know by now Ms. Maas knows how to pace an rip roaring tale and that I am wholly capable (inclined, even) to fall in love with her casts of characters. And this series has proven itself no different. I understand, guys. I understand now. I understood the moment I fell in love with Chaol Westfall (which was approximately the moment I read the words "Chaol stepped up to the line" and was permanently cemented the moment I read the words "Chaol sank to his knees") and accepted that my heart would be smashed into pieces at some not-distant-enough point in the future. Because I haven't been living under a hole these past few years. I know the doom my Chaol-loving heart faces. I don't care. I will always love the captain of the guard. That said, I finished Heir of Fire last night and I am kind of a fan of Rowan Whitethorn. And of the natural and measured progression his introduction into the series has taken. I expected a rush, and instead I got . . . well, just what it should be. What can I say? My heart is big enough to encompass what will come.

And, yes, it's utterly reprehensible ridiculous that it took me this long to eradicate the bee in my bonnet and dive back in. But I did it! And that's all that matters. Because now I have the singular pleasure of being smack dab in the middle of a full-on binge of the series. And the truth is, how often do I actually get to do that? It's rare, you guys. I am currently tearing my way through five not-slender novels and thoroughly enjoying every absorbed minute. I started Queen of Shadows last night and am 100 pages in, and I ordered the Target exclusive editions of both Empire of Storms and Tower of Dawn last night at midnight. Because, predictably, I have fallen down the fan art rabbit hole with this series, and I require the art in these special editions. I can't wait til they arrive! In fact, I'm worried I'll have finished Queen of Shadows before they do. Reader woes, you guys. I got 'em.

So . . . I'll keep you posted, you know? I'm so happy this happened right at the end of the year so that this series could bridge the old and the new for me and hopefully carry me over into the new year on an excellent reading high. What about you? Any second chance reads that worked out? I'd love to know. Here's to getting over ourselves and finding other people and other worlds we were meant to love.

Comments

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan