Skip to main content

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl

It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love today):


Comments

  1. Wow, you've been writing book reviews for a long time! Good for you. Have you ever written any posts about how you write reviews? (e.g. advice?)

    My TTT.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha! I really have. Thanks, Lydia. I haven't written how-to or advice post before just because it feels like such an individual thing. Have you? I'd be interested in other reviewer processes.

      Delete
  2. I learned about Sharon Shinn, Maria V. Snyder, and Patricia Briggs from your blog years ago. 😀

    ReplyDelete
  3. That's a wonderful collection of books and authors! Most I haven't read yet, but several are on my TBR list. I would love to read some of those reviews!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I should have linked them, lol!

      Delete
  4. I am LOVING the fact that we started blogging around the same time. Or at least, the same year. It makes me happy to see others from that era! That being said, oh gosh, some of these are such a throwback. That Libba Bray takes me back, especially, although I still haven't finished the series somehow--I guess I'm just super slow!! Loved seeing this weeks topic explored, thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Pretty amazing, isn't it? I know! The Libba Bray made me laugh. I loved the first two books and then that last one just infuriated me. Lol.

      Delete
  5. i wanna try some of them and i search for review, i love your list, i think those books really dearverse to buy, thank you for your list,
    hotmail login english

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great list, I have already tried some of them will try rest of them soon. hotmail login

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan