Skip to main content

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl

It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love today):


Comments

  1. Wow, you've been writing book reviews for a long time! Good for you. Have you ever written any posts about how you write reviews? (e.g. advice?)

    My TTT.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha! I really have. Thanks, Lydia. I haven't written how-to or advice post before just because it feels like such an individual thing. Have you? I'd be interested in other reviewer processes.

      Delete
  2. I learned about Sharon Shinn, Maria V. Snyder, and Patricia Briggs from your blog years ago. 😀

    ReplyDelete
  3. That's a wonderful collection of books and authors! Most I haven't read yet, but several are on my TBR list. I would love to read some of those reviews!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I should have linked them, lol!

      Delete
  4. I am LOVING the fact that we started blogging around the same time. Or at least, the same year. It makes me happy to see others from that era! That being said, oh gosh, some of these are such a throwback. That Libba Bray takes me back, especially, although I still haven't finished the series somehow--I guess I'm just super slow!! Loved seeing this weeks topic explored, thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Pretty amazing, isn't it? I know! The Libba Bray made me laugh. I loved the first two books and then that last one just infuriated me. Lol.

      Delete
  5. i wanna try some of them and i search for review, i love your list, i think those books really dearverse to buy, thank you for your list,
    hotmail login english

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great list, I have already tried some of them will try rest of them soon. hotmail login

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …