Skip to main content

Angie's Little Free Library

I've wanted to post about this for the last while, but . . . life. Ever since we took a family trip a few years ago and ran across one of these Little Free Libraries somewhere in the wilds of Colorado, I've dreamed of putting one up in our yard and filling it with all the books. Since I am a serial book collector, it seemed as though it wouldn't be a hardship keeping one stocked. I can't even imagine the various ways my head would have exploded as a kid if I'd stumbled across one of these in any of the many neighborhoods where we lived when I was growing up. I would have absolutely haunted it.

And then my beautiful husband and his beautiful siblings went and gave me one. They even dug the hole and poured the concrete. I painted it, carefully selected the first books, and before I knew it there were actual people stopping. They were actually browsing. And it was approximately one thousand percent as magical as I imagined it might be. So I threw caution to the winds and started the library's own Instagram, in case people wanted to stay apprised of the comings and goings of various items (and so I could natter on in an additional marginally sanctioned way about the books and editions I love so much). And you know what? Thoughtful patrons not only contribute books to the cause (one kind soul left an entire bag full of books leaning against the post one night), they message me when they find and read something they love, when their children read something they love. It's as if they know, you guys.

I've seen people reverse their cars and pull over. I've seen a girl open to the first page and not look up once as she walked away. I even saw people arrive with flashlights long after dark, which thrilled me to my very core. Now Aaron tells me the library is a regular stop on a number of kids' walks home from school, which, of course, means books are magic. And we'll be okay.

Comments

  1. I absolutely love everything about this. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is so cool. I can see so many of my favourite books on your shelves - there is nothing like sharing the love!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There really isn't. It brings so much joy.

      Delete
  3. It's a fabulous library. Really wonderful.

    ReplyDelete
  4. SO jealous and happy for you! I've have been dreaming of my own little free library as well. I have the spot all planned out, but I need to buy the box.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It took quite awhile to make it actually happen. But it's such a pleasure now. Fingers crossed for you!

      Delete
  5. In my neighborhood in rural England, I stumbled across an iconic English phonebox (think Doctor Who) that had been turned into a village lending library. I blogged about it here: https://knitigatingcircumstances.com/2018/05/29/library-in-a-telephone-booth/. - Kelly

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan