Skip to main content

Angie's Little Free Library

I've wanted to post about this for the last while, but . . . life. Ever since we took a family trip a few years ago and ran across one of these Little Free Libraries somewhere in the wilds of Colorado, I've dreamed of putting one up in our yard and filling it with all the books. Since I am a serial book collector, it seemed as though it wouldn't be a hardship keeping one stocked. I can't even imagine the various ways my head would have exploded as a kid if I'd stumbled across one of these in any of the many neighborhoods where we lived when I was growing up. I would have absolutely haunted it.

And then my beautiful husband and his beautiful siblings went and gave me one. They even dug the hole and poured the concrete. I painted it, carefully selected the first books, and before I knew it there were actual people stopping. They were actually browsing. And it was approximately one thousand percent as magical as I imagined it might be. So I threw caution to the winds and started the library's own Instagram, in case people wanted to stay apprised of the comings and goings of various items (and so I could natter on in an additional marginally sanctioned way about the books and editions I love so much). And you know what? Thoughtful patrons not only contribute books to the cause (one kind soul left an entire bag full of books leaning against the post one night), they message me when they find and read something they love, when their children read something they love. It's as if they know, you guys.

I've seen people reverse their cars and pull over. I've seen a girl open to the first page and not look up once as she walked away. I even saw people arrive with flashlights long after dark, which thrilled me to my very core. Now Aaron tells me the library is a regular stop on a number of kids' walks home from school, which, of course, means books are magic. And we'll be okay.

Comments

  1. I absolutely love everything about this. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is so cool. I can see so many of my favourite books on your shelves - there is nothing like sharing the love!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There really isn't. It brings so much joy.

      Delete
  3. It's a fabulous library. Really wonderful.

    ReplyDelete
  4. SO jealous and happy for you! I've have been dreaming of my own little free library as well. I have the spot all planned out, but I need to buy the box.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It took quite awhile to make it actually happen. But it's such a pleasure now. Fingers crossed for you!

      Delete
  5. In my neighborhood in rural England, I stumbled across an iconic English phonebox (think Doctor Who) that had been turned into a village lending library. I blogged about it here: https://knitigatingcircumstances.com/2018/05/29/library-in-a-telephone-booth/. - Kelly

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan