Skip to main content

A Month of Reading: August


Best reads of the past month:

Requiem for the Devil by Jeri Smith-Ready
This one hurt. Of course, I knew it was a sequel to Paradise Lost going in, so I don't really have grounds to complain. It's in turns beautiful, dark, and thoughtful. And I knew how it was going to end from page one. But it still hurt.
Size 12 is Not Fat by Meg Cabot
Okay, I think I've burned my way through all of her adult works currently in print. This one's a mystery and the first written in traditional format. Grab yourself a DoveBar and nestle in.
Just in Case by Meg Rosoff
Proof in print that How I Live Now was no fluke. Holy crow, this book is good. Rosoff's books are always painful, but this one is painful on an existential level. Think The Stranger meets Great Expectations. Keep 'em coming, Ms. Rosoff. Keep 'em coming.
New Moon by Stephenie Meyer
What to say? It was wonderful. It was awful. As good as its predecessor, but Very Different. A word to the wise: if you thought Twilight was in any way painful, you might want to read King Lear a couple times in quick succession before reading this sequel. Let's just say the excruciating level of anxiety caused by that first drop of blood doesn't abate in the slightest to the very last page. Wake me in a year when Eclipse is out. *sob*

Best rereads of the past month:

Archangel by Sharon Shinn
The first (and best) in the marvelous Samaria series. This was also our discussion book on Readerville this month and Ms. Shinn joined us!
Angel-Seeker by Sharon Shinn
Because even though it's the 5th book in the series, chronologically it takes place right after Archangel, and I'd never read them consecutively. I highly recommend it. Now, you will want to cry when you find that Rachel and Gabriel aren't the main characters. But you must be strong. Keep reading. Because they're there! And the scenes they're in are golden. Plus, lots of Obadiah. Never a bad thing. This one moves up in my estimation with each reread. Archangel will never be ousted from its place atop the Samaria hierarchy, but Angel-Seeker and Angelica are solid follow-ups and not to be missed.
Sword-Dancer, Sword-Singer, Sword-Maker, Sword-Breaker, Sword-Born, and Sword-Sworn by Jennifer Roberson
Ah hoolies, this six-volume swashbuckling series is loads of fun. All six are now out in three fat and juicy omnibus editions, and the cover art is mildly less horrific than the 1980s aerobics-instructors-disguised-as-swordfighters covers of the original editions. Told from the viewpoint of Tiger--the best sword-dancer in the South--as he meets Del--a Northern sword-singer who's not only as good as he is (possibly better), she's a woman. This fantasy series is unusual in many ways, not the least of which is its broad appeal to both sexes.
Beauty by Robin McKinley
Every night at bedtime, Will asks me to tell him the story of Beauty and the Beast. He's seen the movie and he expects certain elements of that version, so currently my telling of it resides somewhere between the movie and this book--my very favorite version of the tale. Of all the fairy tales this is the one where she saves him. Every night I finish the story and Will says excitedly, "Beauty broke the spell, Mommy!" And I smile in the dark and say, "You bet she did."

Comments

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan