Skip to main content

Silent on the Moor by Deanna Raybourn

It's difficult for me to describe exactly how excited I was for this book to come out. Silent on the Moor was easily at the top of my most anxiously awaited books of 2009. I discovered Deanna Raybourn last year and, after blowing through the first two Julia Grey novels, have spent the last six months in that special agony reserved for the lovers of sequels. Fortunately a copy popped up at a local (ish) bookstore and I was saved from suffering through the last two weeks til its March 1st publication date. 

The third installment opens with Julia's big brother Bellmont trying to talk her out of haring off to Yorkshire after Brisbane when he has made it clear, in no uncertain terms, that he does not want her anywhere near the place. Julia, of course, doesn't care a fig for Monty's scandalized pride and makes her way with all haste (and several good intentions) to the moors. Unfortunately, Brisbane's new home, Grimsgrave, is even creepier and more decrepit than he led Portia to believe in his letter. The whole place reeks of Miss Havisham's manor and, after meeting the current occupants, Julia soon realizes something is seriously amiss in this house where madness and murder walk hand in hand. Not only does she face the task of convincing Brisbane of a few increasingly important things, but Julia also finds herself uncovering hidden corpses, accepting charms from Gypsy witches, and thwarting a particularly vicious murder attempt. 

Reading Silent on the Moor was an exercise in conflicting emotions. I wanted to blow right through it to the end in one sitting and I simultaneously wanted each page to last longer than it possibly could so that I could savor being back with these two characters I have come to love. I had some pretty high hopes for this one. The third book in a series such as this comes with a rather hefty share of promise resting squarely on its shoulders and can really make or a break the series as a whole, in my opinion. This one truly made it. Every hope I had was fulfilled and I found myself turning back to reread favorite passages before I was even a third of the way through the book. This practice was repeated at regular intervals for the duration--truly the mark of an excellent read around these parts. If you like literary mysteries and haven't come across this series before, for the love of all that is holy, go get them now. I am immoderately fond of them. 

Comments

  1. Anonymous12:42 PM

    I adore this series. Everything about it is just perfect.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I only skimmed because I just cracked this book open yesterday and I don't want to know anything in advance!! But I did read that you felt it lived up to hefty expectations. That was what I wanted to know. Now, back to reading.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Taryn1:56 PM

    I agree aboyut being immoderately fond of these books. I LOVE this series and I worry we have a long wait for book 4.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anon, I absolutely agree. Perfect.

    Brie, pleasant reading to you!

    Taryn, I know. Finishing it was bittersweet as we have no actual release date for book 4 yet. Sigh.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous7:59 AM

    Even though I also worry that we have a long wait for the fourth book in the series, I'm excited to read something new from Raybourn. I have no idea what her fourth book, The Dead Travel Fast, is about, but I'm hoping it will be as funny and sexy as the Lady Julia Grey series.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anon, I'll drink to that. I'm definitely looking forward to The Dead Travel Fast. Wonder what it's about?

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous6:49 AM

    The only news I can find out about The Dead Travel Fast is at Deanna Raybourn's new web site. She writes that it's about a British woman in 1850s Transylvania and will be out March 2010.

    I was hoping it would come out at the end of 2009 so there would be a possibility of having the fourth Julia Grey in 2010, but it seems we'll have to wait until 2011 for it.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Transylvania=Very Cool. March 2010=Not Cool at All. 4th Julia Grey in 2011=*sob*

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm about to start the first book.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Princess Allie, oh man. You are so lucky to be reading it for the first time. Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I still can't manage to pull my thoughts together to scrape up a post of my own on this one. I loved it, absolutely, but I can't figure how you managed to talk about it without including spoilers.

    And now we have to wait! Forever! So not fair. (And, okay, I'm really looking forward to the new one anyway.)

    ReplyDelete
  12. Chelle, I did feel bad glossing over it and not getting to go into any of the juicy details. And I agree, I'm glad she has this new one coming out, but it's hard to accept that the 4th Lady Julia is even further away. Argh!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…