Skip to main content

It's Good to Be Back

Phew, I'm back. Vegas was hot and windy, but the wedding we attended was lovely. Lots of yummy, yummy Thai food at the reception and many good people to visit with. A much-needed getaway.

I just wanted to put up a reminder that Laurie R. King, author of the most wonderful if-you-haven't-read-them-yet-you-must Mary Russell series, will be guest blogging here on Wednesday. Laurie is promoting her latest and greatest Mary Russell--The Language of Bees. You're in for a treat so don't miss it!

I've also got several good reviews on their way up this week. Look out for my review of Fragile Eternity (much to say on that one), Dead and Gone (Sookie rules), and of course The Language of Bees.

Comments

  1. It's great to have you back! :)

    I had the pleasure of hearing Laurie R King speak this past week - about the Russell books, writing, the mystery genre in general. And I got my copy of The Language of Bees signed - super excited about that. Now I can't wait to dig in!

    ReplyDelete
  2. it just came in at the library.....ahhhh I can't wait to see what Russell and Holmes do this time.......I'm also excited to see what Miss King has to say on your blog....so cool! Anyway, I'll be in Idaho starting mid June just in time for Becky's shower and then I'll stay until the end of July....the exact date depends on a certain wedding that isn't quite official yet but has been much talked about.....I'm anxious to meet this chica that has got Jeff so head over heels. So, I hope that between the shower, the 4th, and the ?wedding?, we'll be able to see each other AT LEAST once. Even better....quit your job and hang out in Malad for the summer just for good old times.....my parents just got new couches....we'll share!!! I promise not to kick! laters

    ReplyDelete
  3. I can't wait to hear your thoughts on Fragile Eternity! I loved it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Chelle, thanks! And you actually got to hear her speak? Score!

    Liz, I'm deep into THE LANGUAGE OF BEES now and you will not be disappointed! Given the time you'll be in Malad, I'm sure we'll be able to hook up. New couches?!?! They must be broken in properly...

    Amy, I promise to share my many thoughts. Seth...sigh.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Glad you had a good time!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion, Vols. 1 & 2 by Beth Brower

I feel a bit giddy finally talking to you all about this series. If you'll remember, I fell madly in love with The Q  when it came out a few years ago. Now, Beth Brower is writing The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion — a series of novellas set in London in 1883. Each volume is an excerpt from the incorrigible Emma's journals, and the first two volumes are already available with the third on the way soon. I think they'd make rather perfect pandemic reading. Humorous and charming down to their bones, they're just what the doctor ordered to lift your spirits in this uncertain time that just proves to be too much some days. If you're experiencing one of those days, I suggest giving Volume 1   a go (it's only 99 cents on Kindle, $4.99 for a trade paperback copy). It will surprise exactly none of you that I own print and digital editions of both volumes.  Miss Emma M. Lion has waited long enough. Come hell or high water (and really, given her track record,  both a

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of