Skip to main content

Coming Soon, I Swear

I'm back from BEA, or the event that shall hereafter be known as The Most Unbelievably Awesome Gathering of Bookish People Ever. Or, TMUAGOBPE, for the acronym inclined. And my report is coming soon, I swear. But while I'm hugging DH and kiddoes and working and trying to wrap my brain around the fact that it's over *sob*, I leave you with two very dissimilar but noteworthy items. Enjoy.

and

Comments

  1. Oooo, Robin McKinley - love!

    Looking forward to the BEA post! I like reading them and reliving, hehe.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Janicu, yes! Those are 800 good first words...

    Wish we could have spent more time chatting at BEA. It's all a bit overwhelming, isn't it?

    ReplyDelete
  3. :sigh: I wanted to go! :cries:





    :sniff:





    Good to have you back, Angie

    ReplyDelete
  4. holy crap - the werewolf looks awesome!! =) I'm excited.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I was too young to go to BEA..

    *sob*

    ReplyDelete
  6. ALady, I bet. I was just lucky everything fell into place so I could go. Fingers crossed that it happens again next year and you get to come too!

    Cam, I thought so too! I have a feeling I'm going to enjoy Jake in this one...

    Emily, I'm so sorry. Your time will come!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I want to be with TMUAGOBPE. I'm however terribly unqualified...

    Jacob looks yummy. If people weren't fans of him before, they probably will be now.

    I think Charlie's Coffeehouse would be one of my cozy places too. I'll have to think of more.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Liza, I agree. Many a new Jacob fan will be made. And McKinley just nailed it with Charlie's. It just came alive and felt like the kind of place all those crazy, lovable people would want to be. So naturally we want to be there too.

    ReplyDelete
  9. just watched the trailer and I got chills

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan