Skip to main content

Coming Soon, I Swear

I'm back from BEA, or the event that shall hereafter be known as The Most Unbelievably Awesome Gathering of Bookish People Ever. Or, TMUAGOBPE, for the acronym inclined. And my report is coming soon, I swear. But while I'm hugging DH and kiddoes and working and trying to wrap my brain around the fact that it's over *sob*, I leave you with two very dissimilar but noteworthy items. Enjoy.

and

Comments

  1. Oooo, Robin McKinley - love!

    Looking forward to the BEA post! I like reading them and reliving, hehe.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Janicu, yes! Those are 800 good first words...

    Wish we could have spent more time chatting at BEA. It's all a bit overwhelming, isn't it?

    ReplyDelete
  3. :sigh: I wanted to go! :cries:





    :sniff:





    Good to have you back, Angie

    ReplyDelete
  4. holy crap - the werewolf looks awesome!! =) I'm excited.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I was too young to go to BEA..

    *sob*

    ReplyDelete
  6. ALady, I bet. I was just lucky everything fell into place so I could go. Fingers crossed that it happens again next year and you get to come too!

    Cam, I thought so too! I have a feeling I'm going to enjoy Jake in this one...

    Emily, I'm so sorry. Your time will come!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I want to be with TMUAGOBPE. I'm however terribly unqualified...

    Jacob looks yummy. If people weren't fans of him before, they probably will be now.

    I think Charlie's Coffeehouse would be one of my cozy places too. I'll have to think of more.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Liza, I agree. Many a new Jacob fan will be made. And McKinley just nailed it with Charlie's. It just came alive and felt like the kind of place all those crazy, lovable people would want to be. So naturally we want to be there too.

    ReplyDelete
  9. just watched the trailer and I got chills

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th