Skip to main content

A Couple of Stops



Reading and Ruminations is holding a fantastic Summer Reading Blitz giveaway, in which she's giving one lucky commenter the entire Ivy League series by Diana Peterfreund. You've heard me go on about this series and, now that the fourth and final one is out, this is a superb chance to get a hold of the whole lot and read them through without even having to blink an eye in between. At least, that's what I'd do...Go leave a comment and be entered in the contest.





My friend Martha has a lovely post up on her favorite literary places. She's got some great golden, glowy places on her list, including the Murry's kitchen from A Wrinkle in Time, the Dancing Dove from Tamora Pierce's Alanna books, and Mr. Tumnus' house from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. I love each of those places so much. When I think about the coziest literary places I love to return to again and again to curl up and just be with the characters, those always come to mind, along with Charlie's Coffeehouse from Sunshine. Drop by at A Curiosity Shop and leave a comment with your own favorite places.

Comments

  1. Ahh. I totally craved cinnamon rolls and gingerbread for days after reading Sunshine!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh, man. Every time I read it...and I really want to know what Sunshine's Killer Zebras taste like!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th