Skip to main content

Marillier Pretties

I'm ridiculously late on this one, but here on the left is the U.S. cover for Juliet Marillier's upcoming Heart's Blood (due out November 3rd). Gorgeous is what it is. I'm putting the UK and Australian covers next to it for comparison. Amazing the range you can get for a single book, isn't it? Which is your favorite?

A snippet from the blurb on Ms. Marillier's site:
A haunted forest. A cursed castle. A girl running from her past and a man who's more than he seems to be.
A tale of love, betrayal, and redemption...
Sigh. I cannot wait.

Comments

  1. Ooo sounds great.
    I think I like the first one best.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Is this a stand-alone? It sounds great!! I think I like the first one best!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Juju, it does doesn't it?

    Kath, yes! It's a standalone and she has described it as a Gothic fantasy romance set in 14th century Ireland. I am so excited! And I agree with you both, the U.S. cover is my favorite. So pretty...

    ReplyDelete
  4. The middle one would be my favorite if not for the girl in the front, so I'll have to say ditto. :) Btw this is sort of off topic, but how is Marillier pronounced? I assumed since it looks French (and it sounds so pretty) the 'r' would be silent, but maybe it's been Englishcized?

    ReplyDelete
  5. Holly, yeah the girl in the front of the UK one is a bit...sinister looking for me. And I believe you're right--Marillier is pronounced the French way. It is a lovely last name.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love the UK one myself :-)

    Obviously the publishers know their markets well. It's pretty amazing how different the covers are.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Clara2:56 PM

    I prefer the right cover, it's a Waterhouse painting called (if I remember right) the crystal ball. I have to admit that the first thing that got my atention, when I was reading a blog about the book, was this cover, I love Waterhouse work. And I can't wait to read this book!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Li, that's a really good point. They're quite different, aren't they? Though each beautiful in their own way. It will be interesting to look back at them after reading it and see which one fits our individual impressions of the characters and tone.

    Clara, I was guessing it might be a Waterhouse. I love it when a cover catches my eye and the story turns out to be just as beautiful. Marillier always comes through and so, like you, I can't wait to read this one. Particularly interested to see how she does a standalone as she generally writes series.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous3:52 PM

    I do like the first one on the left. I hope she recovers okay from her chemo!!!

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  10. I like the UK one (which would be why I pre-ordered it. Okay, that, and it coming out a month earlier there.:) ) The other two are also nice, though, and I found it so interesting how different they are.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I like the US cover best but the Australian cover is very nice too.

    ReplyDelete
  12. OMG Def the Waterhouse one. I have that painting framed in my old bedroom at home. I love it.

    totally o/t, but there is an exhibition of his work going on right now at the Royal Academy and I am going to see in August.

    squeeee.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Sharry, I know! I was so worried when I first read about it on her site. It sounds like she's working through it and my thoughts are with her.

    Chelle, you lucky dog! I love how different they are. If I were independently wealthy I would have all my favorite editions of all my favorite books. Because I am that nerdy.

    delitealex, I agree. I love both their dresses. It's interesting how similar the title fonts are on those two...

    Ana, do you really? Awesome! I'm so jealous you get to go to the exhibition!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Anonymous12:46 PM

    Angie,

    Have you seen the new Moira J Moore cover? It's up at Amazon. What do you think?

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  15. Love the Australian cover the most, but the US cover is kinda awesome, too. The UK cover is also okay, but to me she looks like Darlene from Roseanne, hmmm...

    ReplyDelete
  16. Karen, I came across a tiny version of it a couple days ago but couldn't even make it out clearly enough to have an opinion. I just went and checked it on Amazon and I don't know what to say. Their hair is inexplicable and their faces look like feet. *sob*

    Samantha, LOL. Now Darlene is all I see. hehehe.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I'm going to be in the minority, I'm sure, but I like the UK cover best.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Azteclady, I originally thought that was the sole cover. The other two look more like her usual fare and I liked the doom and gloom sort of superreal look of the background on the UK one.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Anonymous6:16 PM

    Angie, I know. I think I prefer the covers for the first two books over this latest cover. They were silly, but they had a sense of humor and the cartoonish characters were cute. "Their faces look like feet" made me laugh! Karen

    ReplyDelete
  20. I like the first one best, but it's a close race between that and the last one, the one with the girl in the red dress. Very pretty!

    ReplyDelete
  21. Karen, I'm with you. At least with those you could believe there's some good self-deprecating humor in the books. With this new one I'm going to have to work even harder to get people to read the series. *headdesk*

    Allegra, that red dress really is gorgeous. I can't wait to read it and see which girl looks most like her or evokes the right feel. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan