Skip to main content

The Book Smugglers Guest Dare


So Ana and Thea of The Book Smugglers fame tapped me for their August Guest Dare. This is an awesome monthly feature in which they dare another book blogger to read a book in a genre they don't usually read and then review it on their site. Since Ana is a big romance reader, and I'd never read a romance before, they dared me to read Mr. Impossible by Loretta Chase! Despite a certain amount of trepidation, I rose to the challenge and today I am guest blogging over there with my review of Mr. Impossible. If you get a chance, please drop in to see what I thought of my very first romance novel!

Comments

  1. Oh such a lovely , awesome picture!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds fun.
    Awesome picture!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ana, lol! I love having a husband who's a photographer.

    Juju, thanks! It was a lot of fun. Even if I cringed and snickered my way through of couple parts.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I could never read romance...I'd be giggling the whole time...

    Hope you had fun!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous10:42 AM

    I'm in the same place you were-at work I see a lot of romance novels and am slightly interested while slightly disgusted at the same time ;)
    Thanks for "girding your loins" (!) and writing about your experiences!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Dannie, yeah, for some reason when things get descriptive in the wrong way it pulls me right out of the story and it's not romantic anymore. I don't know why this is the case for me, but it is. I did have fun, though, and I'm going to take Ana's next romance rec (based on my response to this one) and one from Diana Peterfreund as well and give them a whirl.

    Rachel, I know what you mean. There's something so intriguing about the unknown of romance novels. At the same time it's a bit daunting knowing you might encounter Too Much Information for you. ;) This one was a good start. Not my favorite, but not enough to deter me from trying another one to see. I'll let you know how it goes...

    ReplyDelete
  7. Glad you got through it!

    ReplyDelete
  8. What a nifty idea! Glad you go to participate!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Haven't read a romance.. that's like.. crazah. I feel like you'd prefer contemporaries better than historicals though. Maybe.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Angie -- Some people would argue that Mary Stewart's books ARE romance. They do fit the basic model. :)

    They don't have the lurid covers though...

    ReplyDelete
  11. Liza, grin. Yep.

    Janssen, it is, isn't it? Love those gals.

    Janice, lol. I know. I shall have to give a contemporary a shot. Any suggestions?

    Jennie, see, I wasn't sure! I'd always seen them categorized as mystery or romantic suspense. So I guess when I was referring to straight romance, I meant a book in which the romance is the main vehicle or sole point of the story. Stewart's books always felt like there was more to them...But I am no expert certainly.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Contemporaries I'd suggest: well Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie is the book that is ALWAYS suggested (because it's good). I loved that one. I also liked the two Julie James books out (those are more like B, B+ books than As though).

    ReplyDelete
  13. Janice, hm, haven't heard of BET ME. Lol, I know, big surprise. I'll definitely look it up.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's