Skip to main content

The Book Smugglers Guest Dare


So Ana and Thea of The Book Smugglers fame tapped me for their August Guest Dare. This is an awesome monthly feature in which they dare another book blogger to read a book in a genre they don't usually read and then review it on their site. Since Ana is a big romance reader, and I'd never read a romance before, they dared me to read Mr. Impossible by Loretta Chase! Despite a certain amount of trepidation, I rose to the challenge and today I am guest blogging over there with my review of Mr. Impossible. If you get a chance, please drop in to see what I thought of my very first romance novel!

Comments

  1. Oh such a lovely , awesome picture!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds fun.
    Awesome picture!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ana, lol! I love having a husband who's a photographer.

    Juju, thanks! It was a lot of fun. Even if I cringed and snickered my way through of couple parts.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I could never read romance...I'd be giggling the whole time...

    Hope you had fun!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous10:42 AM

    I'm in the same place you were-at work I see a lot of romance novels and am slightly interested while slightly disgusted at the same time ;)
    Thanks for "girding your loins" (!) and writing about your experiences!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Dannie, yeah, for some reason when things get descriptive in the wrong way it pulls me right out of the story and it's not romantic anymore. I don't know why this is the case for me, but it is. I did have fun, though, and I'm going to take Ana's next romance rec (based on my response to this one) and one from Diana Peterfreund as well and give them a whirl.

    Rachel, I know what you mean. There's something so intriguing about the unknown of romance novels. At the same time it's a bit daunting knowing you might encounter Too Much Information for you. ;) This one was a good start. Not my favorite, but not enough to deter me from trying another one to see. I'll let you know how it goes...

    ReplyDelete
  7. Glad you got through it!

    ReplyDelete
  8. What a nifty idea! Glad you go to participate!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Haven't read a romance.. that's like.. crazah. I feel like you'd prefer contemporaries better than historicals though. Maybe.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Angie -- Some people would argue that Mary Stewart's books ARE romance. They do fit the basic model. :)

    They don't have the lurid covers though...

    ReplyDelete
  11. Liza, grin. Yep.

    Janssen, it is, isn't it? Love those gals.

    Janice, lol. I know. I shall have to give a contemporary a shot. Any suggestions?

    Jennie, see, I wasn't sure! I'd always seen them categorized as mystery or romantic suspense. So I guess when I was referring to straight romance, I meant a book in which the romance is the main vehicle or sole point of the story. Stewart's books always felt like there was more to them...But I am no expert certainly.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Contemporaries I'd suggest: well Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie is the book that is ALWAYS suggested (because it's good). I loved that one. I also liked the two Julie James books out (those are more like B, B+ books than As though).

    ReplyDelete
  13. Janice, hm, haven't heard of BET ME. Lol, I know, big surprise. I'll definitely look it up.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan