Skip to main content

Mr. Brisbane, the Book Seer, & an Excerpt

Deanna Raybourn posted a link to a fan's artistic rendition of her character--Mr. Nicholas Brisbane. As I know a few of you are admirers of Mr. Brisbane, I thought I'd post the link. Perhaps it'll help tide you over till the 4th Lady Julia Grey novel. He's really quite lovely. Scar and all.

I recently ran across this rather whimsical site called The Book Seer. You enter the book you just read (along with the author) and it generates a series of books recommendations for you. They seem to be drawn from Amazon, LibraryThing, and BookArmy. This might not prove excessively useful but it's good for a spot of fun and some messing around.

I keep a long list of upcoming books I'm looking forward to and Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire was a fairly recent addition. Rosemary and Rue is the first in a new urban fantasy series and it looks thoroughly promising. To get a taste of what's to come go read this excerpt Ms. McGuire has posted on her site.

Comments

  1. I really need to read Deanna Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey novels...

    KMont at Lurv a la Mode just posted a review of Rosemary and Rue today--she loved it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. The BookSeer thing is pretty cool, but it doesn't like my browser right now.

    I want to read Rosemary and Rue too!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooo, the rendition is perfect. Thanks Angie! I also have a new blog to look at sometime.

    There's also whatshouldireadnext.com, though it's not as whimsical, and I don't know if it will be much more helpful.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Christine, you really do! I have no qualms in saying I think you would love them. I'm pretty sure I first heard about ROSEMARY AND RUE through KMont. I'm excited!

    Janicu, I had to laugh when I input one and it said, "Amazon recommends: Nothing. (Well, no books anyway.)" Lol.

    Holly, you bet! I thought you might like him having recently made his acquaintance. ;) I wish I was an artist of any kind...
    I'll have to go take a peek at whatshouldireadnext.com.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous6:14 PM

    I like their This is where we live video with all the paper people walking around amongst the leaflets of novels.

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for the site tip on The Book Seer, it could come in handy if your in a reading slump and need suggestions.

    I'm also looking forward ROSEMARY and RUE, the book looks like a fantastic read.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sharry, I had not seen that video. How wonderful it is! Thanks so much for pointing me to it.

    Donna, you're right. Perfect for finding your way out of a reading slump!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Wow that picture of Brisbane is...fantastic. Really perfect! I'm envious of those serious art skillz!

    And I had never heard of The Book Seer sight - awesome, thanks for that. Except it is a little discouraging when all three databases recommend nothing (or no books anyways)!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thea, it is, isn't it? I was really shocked at how good it was when I clicked on the link. And I agree on the Book Seer no recs thing. I typed in RAMPANT and got no recs. Guess they don't deal too well with books that aren't out yet. Hehe.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan