Skip to main content

Mr. Brisbane, the Book Seer, & an Excerpt

Deanna Raybourn posted a link to a fan's artistic rendition of her character--Mr. Nicholas Brisbane. As I know a few of you are admirers of Mr. Brisbane, I thought I'd post the link. Perhaps it'll help tide you over till the 4th Lady Julia Grey novel. He's really quite lovely. Scar and all.

I recently ran across this rather whimsical site called The Book Seer. You enter the book you just read (along with the author) and it generates a series of books recommendations for you. They seem to be drawn from Amazon, LibraryThing, and BookArmy. This might not prove excessively useful but it's good for a spot of fun and some messing around.

I keep a long list of upcoming books I'm looking forward to and Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire was a fairly recent addition. Rosemary and Rue is the first in a new urban fantasy series and it looks thoroughly promising. To get a taste of what's to come go read this excerpt Ms. McGuire has posted on her site.

Comments

  1. I really need to read Deanna Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey novels...

    KMont at Lurv a la Mode just posted a review of Rosemary and Rue today--she loved it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. The BookSeer thing is pretty cool, but it doesn't like my browser right now.

    I want to read Rosemary and Rue too!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooo, the rendition is perfect. Thanks Angie! I also have a new blog to look at sometime.

    There's also whatshouldireadnext.com, though it's not as whimsical, and I don't know if it will be much more helpful.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Christine, you really do! I have no qualms in saying I think you would love them. I'm pretty sure I first heard about ROSEMARY AND RUE through KMont. I'm excited!

    Janicu, I had to laugh when I input one and it said, "Amazon recommends: Nothing. (Well, no books anyway.)" Lol.

    Holly, you bet! I thought you might like him having recently made his acquaintance. ;) I wish I was an artist of any kind...
    I'll have to go take a peek at whatshouldireadnext.com.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous6:14 PM

    I like their This is where we live video with all the paper people walking around amongst the leaflets of novels.

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for the site tip on The Book Seer, it could come in handy if your in a reading slump and need suggestions.

    I'm also looking forward ROSEMARY and RUE, the book looks like a fantastic read.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sharry, I had not seen that video. How wonderful it is! Thanks so much for pointing me to it.

    Donna, you're right. Perfect for finding your way out of a reading slump!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Wow that picture of Brisbane is...fantastic. Really perfect! I'm envious of those serious art skillz!

    And I had never heard of The Book Seer sight - awesome, thanks for that. Except it is a little discouraging when all three databases recommend nothing (or no books anyways)!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thea, it is, isn't it? I was really shocked at how good it was when I clicked on the link. And I agree on the Book Seer no recs thing. I typed in RAMPANT and got no recs. Guess they don't deal too well with books that aren't out yet. Hehe.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan