Skip to main content

There She Goes

There she goes again. With her fantabulous, freaking book trailers. And I'm not even a fan of the format myself. I generally find them the height of cheese, though I realize I'm not likely the target audience. Still. If I'd never read her books or heard her name, I would want to read both Shiver and Ballad based on these awesomely beautiful trailers Maggie Stiefvater made herself. Wouldn't you?
For a behind-the-scenes peek into the making of the Shiver trailer, go here. Amazing. Maggie also has contests going on to win both books. So be sure to check those out here.

Comments

  1. I was already a fan of the Shiver trailer, but this was my first time seeing the Ballad trailer. The music, the drawings ... I loved it! Having read the book already, I think it's perfect. Thanks for posting.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm a huge fan after Lament and can't wait to read these.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I heard it wasn't that great...but the trailers are kick ass!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous9:53 AM

    Those are the coolest, most original book trailers I've ever seen!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I know! She's frighteningly talented in all areas of art. We're constantly posting her latest marvels on our blog too. Where does she find the time?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Holly, I know! It does seem perfect once you've read it, doesn't it?

    Juju, you will not be disappointed. Promise.

    Dannie, yeah, I've read a couple not enthralled reviews. I happen to be a big fan and think her writing is lovely but to each her own. The trailers definitely rock.

    Just Blinded, my thoughts exactly!

    Donna, I have absolutely no idea. I checked out your blog, btw, and what a fun place it is!

    ReplyDelete
  7. So sweet! And she composed the music too.

    I see you're on Team Gale--I guess you must have read Catching Fire already. I havent (threeweekstogothreeweekstogothreeweekstogothreeweekstogothreeweekstogothreeweekstogo) so I'm reserving my judgement...but I found the romance subplot in The Hunger Games to be a little weak compared to the rest of the fabulous fabulous plot. But I thought Gale was kinda cool :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Angie, thanks so much for posting these! *blush*

    ReplyDelete
  9. I followed your links to Maggie's blogs yesterday and got all kinds of distracted there... and never said thanks to you, Angie, for pointing me in the right direction. So thanks. : )

    ReplyDelete
  10. Rhiannon, I know! I love that she composed the music as well.

    My review of CATCHING FIRE will be coming soon and, yes, I am a Gale fan. I agree that the romance was not the focus in the first book and will be interested to hear what you think of that angle after reading book 2.

    Maggie, how could I not? They're made of awesome!

    Christine, you are so welcome. It's a fun place, isn't it? :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …