Skip to main content

Dark Pretties

Debut author Becca Fitzpatrick's first novel revolves around a girl named Nora whose life enters a dark phase when she encounters an unusual boy named Patch who is not who he seems. This one is getting loads of early rave reviews and I can't wait to read it. Word is it's dark, twisty, emotional, and utterly compelling. I'll drink to that! Due out October 13th.
Carrie Jones' sequel to Need has an even more beautiful cover than the first one. I love the gold tears and am looking forward to finding out where Zara's story goes and how she's going to keep the not the pretty kind of pixies from eating her! Due out January 5th.
So I know zombies are all the rage, but it seems to me that angels are on the rise as well. The first in a new four-book series, Fallen tells the story of 16-year-old Luce who finds herself caught up in an ancient war between angels and demons while at Sword & Cross boarding school in Savannah, Georgia. Due out December 8th.

Comments

  1. Love all three of these covers, especially Fallen and Hush Hush.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love these dark covers. I have hush hush for review in October.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I want all three!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous1:14 PM

    I'll have to add all these to my to read list :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Vanessa, yeah, I really was drawn to all three.

    Serena, do you? Awesome. Can't wait to hear what you think.

    Wendy, *nods* me too.

    Emily, grin. I'm really looking forward to all three. I read NEED last January and it cold and icicly out and the perfect time for that one.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Dark and beautiful covers! I haven't heard of Fallen, it looks good.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great covers! hush, hush sounds especially good. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Donna, yeah, that cover for FALLEN is really gorgeous. I love how she has her face in her hands.

    Kimberly, yes! I confess I'm looking forward to that one the most. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Gorgeous, gorgeous covers. There's so much creativity in YA cover art these days. I love it!

    I've got Hush, Hush on my list already, but Fallen is new to me. It sounds great, too! I love stories that take place at boarding schools. It guess the setting lends itself to all kinds of mischief.

    ReplyDelete
  10. All three covers looks great!

    I'm eagerly awaiting Hush Hush and Captivate(I really enjoyed reading Need!).

    ReplyDelete
  11. Christine, I agree. And you're right about the boarding school setting. Looking forward to shenanigans. :)

    Ladybug, I'm glad you enjoyed NEED. I haven't heard a ton of buzz about it but I enjoyed it and am glad the sequel is on its way.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh, great covers! They're all gorgeous.
    I've heard of the other two (I'm dying to get a copy of Hush Hush and waiting for the sequel to need), but I've never heard of Fallen. I haven't read much about angels, but it sounds interesting.
    I'll definitely be checking out that book now, thanks! (:

    ReplyDelete
  13. Jenn, I haven't read a ton of angel stuff but I'll admit I find it intriguing. The one series I have read and loved is Sharon Shinn's ARCHANGEL series. Pure gold, that.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …