Skip to main content

Dark Pretties

Debut author Becca Fitzpatrick's first novel revolves around a girl named Nora whose life enters a dark phase when she encounters an unusual boy named Patch who is not who he seems. This one is getting loads of early rave reviews and I can't wait to read it. Word is it's dark, twisty, emotional, and utterly compelling. I'll drink to that! Due out October 13th.
Carrie Jones' sequel to Need has an even more beautiful cover than the first one. I love the gold tears and am looking forward to finding out where Zara's story goes and how she's going to keep the not the pretty kind of pixies from eating her! Due out January 5th.
So I know zombies are all the rage, but it seems to me that angels are on the rise as well. The first in a new four-book series, Fallen tells the story of 16-year-old Luce who finds herself caught up in an ancient war between angels and demons while at Sword & Cross boarding school in Savannah, Georgia. Due out December 8th.

Comments

  1. Love all three of these covers, especially Fallen and Hush Hush.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love these dark covers. I have hush hush for review in October.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I want all three!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous1:14 PM

    I'll have to add all these to my to read list :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Vanessa, yeah, I really was drawn to all three.

    Serena, do you? Awesome. Can't wait to hear what you think.

    Wendy, *nods* me too.

    Emily, grin. I'm really looking forward to all three. I read NEED last January and it cold and icicly out and the perfect time for that one.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Dark and beautiful covers! I haven't heard of Fallen, it looks good.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great covers! hush, hush sounds especially good. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Donna, yeah, that cover for FALLEN is really gorgeous. I love how she has her face in her hands.

    Kimberly, yes! I confess I'm looking forward to that one the most. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Gorgeous, gorgeous covers. There's so much creativity in YA cover art these days. I love it!

    I've got Hush, Hush on my list already, but Fallen is new to me. It sounds great, too! I love stories that take place at boarding schools. It guess the setting lends itself to all kinds of mischief.

    ReplyDelete
  10. All three covers looks great!

    I'm eagerly awaiting Hush Hush and Captivate(I really enjoyed reading Need!).

    ReplyDelete
  11. Christine, I agree. And you're right about the boarding school setting. Looking forward to shenanigans. :)

    Ladybug, I'm glad you enjoyed NEED. I haven't heard a ton of buzz about it but I enjoyed it and am glad the sequel is on its way.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh, great covers! They're all gorgeous.
    I've heard of the other two (I'm dying to get a copy of Hush Hush and waiting for the sequel to need), but I've never heard of Fallen. I haven't read much about angels, but it sounds interesting.
    I'll definitely be checking out that book now, thanks! (:

    ReplyDelete
  13. Jenn, I haven't read a ton of angel stuff but I'll admit I find it intriguing. The one series I have read and loved is Sharon Shinn's ARCHANGEL series. Pure gold, that.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan