Skip to main content

Snippets



I have become a big fan of snippets. Well, of Ilona Andrews' snippets particularly. Every so often she and/or Gordon relents and placates the fans by posting a tiny little bit of a piece of a story headed our way sometime in the not-too-distant future. My favorites of these are (for obvious reasons) the Curran-based snippets from the upcoming Kate Daniels book, in this case--Magic Bleeds. But the very best is when Gordon writes a well-known scene from one of the previous books from Curran's POV. That's when the magic happens, people. My very favorite is the soup scene: Part I and Part II. Enjoy.


Juliet Marillier's website has a brand new design worth exploring and she has also posted the first chapter of Heart's Blood. Set in western Ireland during the 12th century this is a standalone novel that is very loosely based on the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale. It is my most anticipated book of the fall and so I couldn't resist the lure of the first chapter. I highly recommend heading over to read about Caitrin as she first arrives at Whistling Tor and get a taste of what's to come when the book comes out November 3rd. I cannot wait.

Charlaine Harris has posted the first chapter of the fourth Harper Connelly mystery. Due out October 27th, Grave Secret follows Harper and Tolliver as they try to deal with the changes in their lives over the last three books. From the first chapter I can tell things are going to get bumpier, not smoother for these two. I love this series and was so happy to find she was writing a fourth volume. Enjoy.

Comments

  1. Ilona Andrews snippets are addictive. It's always: I want MORE MORE MORE!!

    Can't wait for the next Harper Connelly. Will take a look at the link for the first chapter soon, but I think I may have seen it before? Can't remember.. but I think this book is going to be about Harper & Tolliver's two sisters.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love snippets and I LOVE the Magic series. She does a great job with her blog too..such a fun place to visit. I definitely can't wait for more Kate and Curran!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous1:05 PM

    Thanks for posting these, Angie!! Especially Juliet Marillier, I <3 her!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I knew Ilona and Gordon shared snippets, but I hadn't been to their site in a while. The ones from Curran's POV are sooooo good! Makes me want to read the books again. Thanks for the heads up!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Janice, they are!! I always come away just craving another visit with the characters. I'm happy to hear you like the Harper books as well. I was sort of taken by surprise at how much I liked them. And you're right, this fourth one looks like it will definitely involve the two sisters.

    Mandi, exactly! It's such a fun place to poke around and get your fix. :) More Kate and Curran, please.

    Rachel, my pleasure! A new Marillier book on its way never fails to make my pulse quicken and my fingers twitch. And this one looks soooo good.

    Christine, aren't they? I read Curran's POV with a big 'ol grin on my face. They are awesome. What a great team Ilona and Gordon (and Kate & Curran) make.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm practically counting the days until Heart's Blood's release! I read the excerpt a couple of days ago and to say that it whet my appetite would be an understatement. So looking forward to it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love those Curran snippets. I suddenly want a Doolittle POV from the second snippet. What went through the good doc's mind when his boss asks him if Kate would like soup?

    The Andrea/Raphael short story in "Must Love Hellhounds" is really good. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous10:33 PM

    Everytime I hear that a new Juliet Marillier novel is coming out... I get so excited! I can't wait for Heart's Blood!

    However I only recently visited her website and found out about her cancer... that is really too bad and I sent her an email wishing her best of luck on her treatment. That makes me so sad. :(

    I love her new website!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Chelle, I feel exactly the same way. I got chills down my spine reading it.

    Christina, what a good point! I would love to know. I had no idea Curran was so calculating at that early a date. But I love it. And you've convinced me I have to get MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS. I've been wanting to so badly. I love Andrea and Raphael!

    Emily, yes! I knew you would feel the same. I felt absolutely sick when I found out she has cancer. I hope everything goes well and my thoughts are with her.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Actually, these days, I usually try to avoid snippets, unless I read them in a review.

    I think it's because I have too much to read already!!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Lenore, that's true. It can really pad your TBR to dangerous proportions if you run across new fabulous stuff you need to have. :) But when it's a book I'm looking forward to already and the author posts a snippet...I have no will power whatsoever!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan