Skip to main content

Snippets



I have become a big fan of snippets. Well, of Ilona Andrews' snippets particularly. Every so often she and/or Gordon relents and placates the fans by posting a tiny little bit of a piece of a story headed our way sometime in the not-too-distant future. My favorites of these are (for obvious reasons) the Curran-based snippets from the upcoming Kate Daniels book, in this case--Magic Bleeds. But the very best is when Gordon writes a well-known scene from one of the previous books from Curran's POV. That's when the magic happens, people. My very favorite is the soup scene: Part I and Part II. Enjoy.


Juliet Marillier's website has a brand new design worth exploring and she has also posted the first chapter of Heart's Blood. Set in western Ireland during the 12th century this is a standalone novel that is very loosely based on the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale. It is my most anticipated book of the fall and so I couldn't resist the lure of the first chapter. I highly recommend heading over to read about Caitrin as she first arrives at Whistling Tor and get a taste of what's to come when the book comes out November 3rd. I cannot wait.

Charlaine Harris has posted the first chapter of the fourth Harper Connelly mystery. Due out October 27th, Grave Secret follows Harper and Tolliver as they try to deal with the changes in their lives over the last three books. From the first chapter I can tell things are going to get bumpier, not smoother for these two. I love this series and was so happy to find she was writing a fourth volume. Enjoy.

Comments

  1. Ilona Andrews snippets are addictive. It's always: I want MORE MORE MORE!!

    Can't wait for the next Harper Connelly. Will take a look at the link for the first chapter soon, but I think I may have seen it before? Can't remember.. but I think this book is going to be about Harper & Tolliver's two sisters.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love snippets and I LOVE the Magic series. She does a great job with her blog too..such a fun place to visit. I definitely can't wait for more Kate and Curran!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous1:05 PM

    Thanks for posting these, Angie!! Especially Juliet Marillier, I <3 her!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I knew Ilona and Gordon shared snippets, but I hadn't been to their site in a while. The ones from Curran's POV are sooooo good! Makes me want to read the books again. Thanks for the heads up!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Janice, they are!! I always come away just craving another visit with the characters. I'm happy to hear you like the Harper books as well. I was sort of taken by surprise at how much I liked them. And you're right, this fourth one looks like it will definitely involve the two sisters.

    Mandi, exactly! It's such a fun place to poke around and get your fix. :) More Kate and Curran, please.

    Rachel, my pleasure! A new Marillier book on its way never fails to make my pulse quicken and my fingers twitch. And this one looks soooo good.

    Christine, aren't they? I read Curran's POV with a big 'ol grin on my face. They are awesome. What a great team Ilona and Gordon (and Kate & Curran) make.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm practically counting the days until Heart's Blood's release! I read the excerpt a couple of days ago and to say that it whet my appetite would be an understatement. So looking forward to it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love those Curran snippets. I suddenly want a Doolittle POV from the second snippet. What went through the good doc's mind when his boss asks him if Kate would like soup?

    The Andrea/Raphael short story in "Must Love Hellhounds" is really good. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous10:33 PM

    Everytime I hear that a new Juliet Marillier novel is coming out... I get so excited! I can't wait for Heart's Blood!

    However I only recently visited her website and found out about her cancer... that is really too bad and I sent her an email wishing her best of luck on her treatment. That makes me so sad. :(

    I love her new website!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Chelle, I feel exactly the same way. I got chills down my spine reading it.

    Christina, what a good point! I would love to know. I had no idea Curran was so calculating at that early a date. But I love it. And you've convinced me I have to get MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS. I've been wanting to so badly. I love Andrea and Raphael!

    Emily, yes! I knew you would feel the same. I felt absolutely sick when I found out she has cancer. I hope everything goes well and my thoughts are with her.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Actually, these days, I usually try to avoid snippets, unless I read them in a review.

    I think it's because I have too much to read already!!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Lenore, that's true. It can really pad your TBR to dangerous proportions if you run across new fabulous stuff you need to have. :) But when it's a book I'm looking forward to already and the author posts a snippet...I have no will power whatsoever!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…