Skip to main content

Reissued Pretties

It can't be just me, right? These reissues Square Fish has done of Madeleine L'Engle's Austin Family Chronicles are simply beautiful. Enough so that I'm actually pretty impressed at my unusual display of self control at not having purchased them the day they came out! I love the title font, the simple, solid colors, and the detail of the window box art on each one.














I love this series and have done so for a long time now. My copies of The Young Unicorns and A Ring of Endless Light are extremely worn well-loved from having been read so many times. I love the way the siblings grow up and change and love each other across the arc of this five-book series. I love emotional Vicky and precocious Rob, tragic Zachary and grey-eyed Adam. And the music. The way the Austins love and play and appreciate music. They are happy books for me.

Are there series you love so much and over such a period of time that they're reissuing them? And do you find yourself with the urge to own multiple copies just for the beautiful covers alone? Or is that just me?

Comments

  1. Those are really nice covers. :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have not heard of this series of books, but I would be tempted to read the first one based on the cover alone!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love the redesign! And I love this series. Madelein L'Engles will always be a favorite of mine. I hold a special place for her in my heart because Wrinkle in Time really, truly changed my 7 year-old life. :)

    Keenan and I are LOVE book covers and books. We have several copies of the same book, because we like the different covers. It makes sense to me, but I can see how it would make 0 sense to non-book lover.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Britt, aren't they?

    Molly, then they're doing their job. I love how cohesive it makes the series look. Matches the tight family dynamic going on in the series nicely.

    Kos, oh man. A WRINKLE IN TIME was like a revelation, wasn't it? And this series was a lovely segue into her other books after finishing the Time series. Plus all the wonderful crossover characters! She did that so well. Poor Zachary... And I can see you and Keenan with multiple copies and covers. Kindred spirits.

    La Coccinelle, I thought so, too. Had to highlight them here once I saw them.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh no. My poor wallet.

    I haven't read this series and you make it sound perfect for the family book shelf. I'm sure I could find copies in the library, but it's very difficult to resist the lure of these gorgeous covers that would look so perfect together!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Those covers are just gorgeous. Drooling onto my keyboard here.c

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous11:28 PM

    I read and love A Ring of Endless Light! And, those covers make the books that much more collectible. I like The Young Unicorns cover. I read your Bright Star post and I can't wait to watch it myself!! Just a nosy question but what was your master's thesis about?

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've only read one book by Madeline L'Engle and that was Many Waters. I wasn't too thrilled with the book. She's such a staple in fantasy, and I feel I should give her other books a chance. I really like these new covers; they've got the simple, elegance look going on. I'm always wanting to buy reissues of books I own for the new artwork--the Lioness series by Tamora Pierce has got some really awesome new artwork!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Lan, Many Waters is the middle of a series. I can imagine it being difficult for you to follow.

    These are the Chronos books, right? I could never get into them. I liked the Kairos ones. But that was when I was a child. I loved Wrinkle so much it was anything else, anything that wasn't about the Murry/O'Keefes was beyond my comprehension. Perhaps I should give them another chance.

    Especially since one is called the Young Unicorns. I thought for ages about how to fit the Many Waters unicorns into Rampant, but coudln't get them in. All I got was the Harry Potter ones.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Christine, lol, they would be lovely additions to the family bookshelf indeed.

    Kerry, they really are! They must be mine...

    Sharry, A RING OF ENDLESS LIGHT was such a favorite of mine when I was 14. I think THE YOUNG UNICORNS is possibly my favorite now. But it depends on the day and how much I want to read about Adam. :)

    Definitely see Bright Star! It's exquisite.

    And my master's thesis focused on the path to the second marriage in MIDDLEMARCH and THE TENANT OF WILDFELL HALL. Love me some 19th c. female writers. Especially Eliot and Bronte.

    Lan, like Diana said MANY WATERS is definitely not the place to start with L'Engle. I recommend either A WRINKLE IN TIME, MEET THE AUSTINS, or AND BOTH WERE YOUNG--which is such a sweet favorite of mine.

    I'm so glad you mentioned the newest Alanna covers because they are my favorites by far. She just looks so much like the Alanna in my head, particularly on the LIONESS RAMPANT cover, and they picked such good scenes to highlight. I bought them right when they came out, even though that makes my 3rd set of that series. Husband's eye roll was rather larger and longer than usual that day...

    Diana, that's right. These are the Chronos books. I remember being prepared to be let down by them after reading the Kairos ones. But after the first book I got over my longing for the Murrys and the supernatural and fell in love with the Austins. It doesn't hurt that all those lovely traveling characters cross over between Kairos and Chronos and are suddenly there on the page and themselves and wonderful. :)

    THE YOUNG UNICORNS, as I said above, may be my very favorite. It's a wonderfully creepy mystery set in NYC and more particularly at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine. Plus, Canon Tallis is there and I love him.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Angie's 2022 Must Be Mine

 Hopes, fears. We've got them in spades these days. Today, I'm choosing hope and delicious anticipation. And so here are my most anticipated titles of 2022: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just as much: The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion: Vol. 6 by Beth Brower You Were Made to be Mine by Julie Anne Long Heartbreaker by Sarah MacLean The Golden Enclaves by Naomi Novik Dreamer Trilogy, #3 by Maggie Stiefvater Cursed by Marissa Meyer Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan