Skip to main content

The Dead Travel Fast Cover

Hold the phone. I just now came across the cover for Deanna Raybourn's upcoming standalone novel--The Dead Travel Fast. They've clearly designed this cover to match up well with Mira's re-issues of Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey novels. What do you think? I love the title, which is a line from Bram Stoker's Dracula. Interestingly, when he says it, Jonathan Harker is actually quoting an even older source--a poem by Gottfried Burger entitled "Lenore." I am such a huge fan of Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey mysteries and I'm very excited to see what happens when she ventures into all new territory. All I know is that it follows a British woman, takes place in the 1850s, and is set in Transylvania. Those three things, combined with the fact that it's written by Ms. Raybourn, mean I absolutely cannot wait to read it! The Dead Travel Fast is due out March 1st.

Comments

  1. Yeah! So excited.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous2:53 PM

    I like the cover, though I know I'll always prefer the original cover designs for Silent in the Grave and Silent in the Sanctuary. (Imagine how wonderful the cover for Moor would have been if they continued with those designs.)

    I've been checking Deanna Raybourn's blog everyday for news about TDTF and its cover, so this was a pleasant surprise! Like you, I'm excited to read something by Raybourn that isn't in the Lady Julia Grey world. Her books make me so happy.

    Karen

    ReplyDelete
  3. Beautiful cover. This series is on my 'Must Read in 2010" List. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I literally gasped when I saw this! I cannot even express how much I am anticipating this book! Now it's real. (Not that it wasn't before or anything, but...there's now a cover!) Thank you, thank you, thank you for finding and posting this!

    (Um, sorry about all the exclamation marks.)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Holly, I know! I'm all bouncy with excitement.

    Karen, we are truly book kindred spirits, I think. :) I still get sad thinking of what the SotM cover might have been...

    And that's exactly how her books make me feel--so happy.

    Christine, if I'm not mistaken you are going to fall hard for the Lady Julia Grey books. Yay for 2010 reading.

    Chelle, lol, it is absolutely my pleasure. :) Finding it surely made my day. I cannot WAIT! I actually like this cover as it looks dangerous and intriguing rather than seductive.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love Deanna's books... I didn't know about this one, so thanks for sharing! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I didn't know she had a standalone coming out. What great news! And the cover is v. pretty.

    ReplyDelete
  8. oooo pretty! can't wait :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hold the phone is right!! This is a major must read. Oh, please let it not be hardcover!!!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sara, my pleasure! She's such a wonderful writer, isn't she?

    Casey, I agree. Love all the brocade.

    KIWI, I know! So hard all the waiting...

    Carolyn, lol. Major is the word! And you're in luck--it's coming out in trade paperback.

    ReplyDelete
  11. ohh nice. I'm really looking forward to seeing what else Ms. Raybourne is capable of - but please tell me that there are still more Julia mysteries in store! and soon. Please!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Ooooh LOVE the cover!!

    Almost makes it worth having to wait til next fall for the next Julia Grey book....

    :D

    ReplyDelete
  13. Michelle, yes there are! She's at work on the fourth one right now. In revisions, if I'm not mistaken. So excited! *bounce*

    Britt, me too. And, yes, this is just the thing to tide me over.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I am very excited to see news of a new book by Deanna Raybourn, and what little we know of it sounds very interesting too!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Marg, it's almost more exciting that way. Just the hint of an idea, so much possibility...:)

    ReplyDelete
  16. Ooh! I'm a little late to join, BUT I'm so excited for this book! haha, I'm wondering if it will be anything like 'The Historian'? I loved her other books, so I cannot wait!!!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan