Skip to main content

Epic Pretties

These three make me rather weak in the knees. You can just tell by looking at the covers that these pretties pack a punch when it comes to fantasy and epic tasks/quests/journeys, etc. I'm looking forward to each one with incredible amounts of anticipation and I've only read one of these authors before!

Ever since coming up for air after finishing Melina Marchetta's Jellicoe Road, I have been impatiently waiting for Finnikin of the Rock to be released. Already published in Australia, *pout* it's taken its sweet time making its U.S. debut. But I have it on good authority it is going to be well worth the wait. In a world of fever camps, wandering exiles, and cursed kingdoms, young Finnikin joins forces with the reckless Evanjalin in a bid to save the land of Lumatere from the evil that threatens to swallow it. This could be a novel about paint drying and, after the wonder that was Jellicoe Road, I would read it in a heartbeat. Due out February 9th.

Leah Cypess makes her debut with the intriguing fantasy Mistwood. A young girl has lost her memory. A desperate prince risks everything on the mere hope she is who he believes her to be. In the land of Samorna the monarchs have always been protected by an ancient shape-shifter with supernatural abilities. Forced to return to a place she once fled, amid scheming and lies, Isabel struggles to determine who she used to be and what she must become. I love brand new authors with all their possibilities and promise. I've got a seriously good feeling about this one, guys. Due out April 27th.

The first in the Griffin Mage trilogy, Lord of the Changing Winds looks like a promising new series to follow. The griffins are coming, bringing fire and desert in their wake. The king prepares for battle to protect his land from this menace. Meanwhile a young girl is summoned to heal the Griffin King and her awakening abilities lead her to understand the truth behind the sudden flight of these mystical creatures. I really love this cover and am looking forward to diving into a new world full of fire and danger. Even better, the first two books are releasing back to back in April and May. I love it when they do that!

Comments

  1. OOh, there's a GRIFFIN book coming out? There.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow sounds great!

    http://fantasysink.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  3. Nice choices! I've added them to my list!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous11:45 AM

    They all sound like great reads. 2010 feels like it's going to be a great year for books. Can't wait!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Diana, I know, right? So there.

    Maria, *rubs hands together* it does indeed.

    Kath, the list grows ever longer...:)

    Anna, I really agree with you. So much to look forward to!

    La Coccinelle, aren't they? I ran across all three within a day of each other and knew they'd have to go up together.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I agree with Anna; 2010 is shaping up to be a fantastic year for books! I'll definitely be reading all three of these. I might have to go back and read JELLICOE ROAD, too.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ohh, those are so pretty! Definitely look hardcore fantasy here. I especially love Mistwood, though the words are a little hard to see. 2010 is going to be awesome! :) (And hard on my wallet, lol)

    ReplyDelete
  8. oh wow! These all look fantastic. I'm so pleased Melina Marchetta has something out this year even though I have to wait till next year for The Piper's Son! I need friends in Australia!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks for the ideas - I've heard of the first two, and both are totally on my to read list, but the last one is new to me. And I agree. LOVELY covers.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Chelle, yeah, I'm definitely feeling a re-read of that one creeping up on me. Sooo good.

    Jenn, yes, MISTWOOD is going to be something special. I can tell.

    Alexa, I've long felt the same way! Ever since I discovered Juliet Marillier and they used to publish her books in Australia first and then a YEAR later here in the U.S. Argh!

    Raspberry, yeah, that last one gave me a little thrill when I found it. I don't know why. Could have been the comparison the person made to Robin McKinley's BLUE SWORD and Harry. Gave me the good shivers. :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. I've been wishing for Finnikin of the Rock for a long time too. I need a Candlewick insider...

    ReplyDelete
  12. Anonymous2:24 PM

    Can't wait to read the Marchetta!

    ReplyDelete
  13. KB, seriously! It looks soooo good.

    lasrisas, me too!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …