Skip to main content

Evening Stops

Just wanted to drop a few links this evening for your browsing pleasure. The Best of 2009 lists are popping up all over the place and, until I finish trimming mine down, I wanted to highlight just a few of my favorites thus far.
Be sure to check out Michelle's list over at See Michelle Read. Her categories are great, including Best Throwback, Best Author Discovery, and Best YA...Period. Unsurprisingly, I'm with her in every particular.
Pamela over at The Discriminating Fangirl has posted her Top Ten of 2009 list and it's solid. Some I've read, some I haven't, a shout out to the new Star Trek movie *love*, and even a Shallow Honorable Mention category. Hehe.
Amy of My Friend Amy has put together a rather fun, awfully sweet list entitled 2009--Blogs I Have Loved, in which she highlights bloggers who have touched, challenged, and entertained her this year. Definitely give it a read-through.

And last but certainly not least, if you haven't dropped by Ilona Andrews' site in the last few days, you really should. As a Christmas gift to their readers, Ilona and Gordon posted Part 2 of the cage scene from Magic Strikes from Curran's point of view. As you might expect, it's a little slice of awesome. Gordon rocks.
Have a lovely evening!

Comments

  1. Thanks for the linkage Angie! And for the heads up about the snippet from Ilona Andrews - love, love anything that is from Curran's POV *sigh* He rocks my furry world.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yup, guilty as charged! I didn't do one on books, but I covered movies and music this week.
    Thanks for the links!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the link! I couldn't decide what to do with Wolverine otherwise, because it wasn't exactly a great film, but I had to make mention of the pretty! :D

    ReplyDelete
  4. Michelle, my pleasure. I loved your list. Have you read the Curran POV yet?! *waits*

    Diane, I love all the lists. Will check out yours.

    TDF, you bet. Gotta give the pretty the credit it deserves. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Just read the story and am grinning like a silly idiot. Curran, Curran... how can I wait for Magic Bleeds?!? Also, I want Julie to get older (fast) so something can happen between her and Derek. They both deserve a little HEA. *sigh* so happy...

    ReplyDelete
  6. Michelle, *nods* that was my response exactly. Curran...he's just sort of the best. Got my fingers crossed for Julie & Derek, too.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …