Skip to main content

Evening Stops

Just wanted to drop a few links this evening for your browsing pleasure. The Best of 2009 lists are popping up all over the place and, until I finish trimming mine down, I wanted to highlight just a few of my favorites thus far.
Be sure to check out Michelle's list over at See Michelle Read. Her categories are great, including Best Throwback, Best Author Discovery, and Best YA...Period. Unsurprisingly, I'm with her in every particular.
Pamela over at The Discriminating Fangirl has posted her Top Ten of 2009 list and it's solid. Some I've read, some I haven't, a shout out to the new Star Trek movie *love*, and even a Shallow Honorable Mention category. Hehe.
Amy of My Friend Amy has put together a rather fun, awfully sweet list entitled 2009--Blogs I Have Loved, in which she highlights bloggers who have touched, challenged, and entertained her this year. Definitely give it a read-through.

And last but certainly not least, if you haven't dropped by Ilona Andrews' site in the last few days, you really should. As a Christmas gift to their readers, Ilona and Gordon posted Part 2 of the cage scene from Magic Strikes from Curran's point of view. As you might expect, it's a little slice of awesome. Gordon rocks.
Have a lovely evening!

Comments

  1. Thanks for the linkage Angie! And for the heads up about the snippet from Ilona Andrews - love, love anything that is from Curran's POV *sigh* He rocks my furry world.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yup, guilty as charged! I didn't do one on books, but I covered movies and music this week.
    Thanks for the links!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the link! I couldn't decide what to do with Wolverine otherwise, because it wasn't exactly a great film, but I had to make mention of the pretty! :D

    ReplyDelete
  4. Michelle, my pleasure. I loved your list. Have you read the Curran POV yet?! *waits*

    Diane, I love all the lists. Will check out yours.

    TDF, you bet. Gotta give the pretty the credit it deserves. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Just read the story and am grinning like a silly idiot. Curran, Curran... how can I wait for Magic Bleeds?!? Also, I want Julie to get older (fast) so something can happen between her and Derek. They both deserve a little HEA. *sigh* so happy...

    ReplyDelete
  6. Michelle, *nods* that was my response exactly. Curran...he's just sort of the best. Got my fingers crossed for Julie & Derek, too.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan