Skip to main content

The Gift of Books

It's that time of year again. The holiday season is in full swing and the phone at Chez Angie starts ringing off the hook. Friends and family checking in asking for book recommendations to give as gifts. For the record, these are my very favorite sort of calls to get. I love searching out the perfect book for someone, passing on the info, and then sitting back with my mug of cider and just savoring how that book will be enjoyed by that someone. If I'm extra lucky, I get to hear about it later. A lot of great books came out this year and I have enjoyed spreading the word about them. Some of them famous and some of them deserving of so much more attention than they got. As well as a host of perennial favorites. Books I'm giving away this year include: Diana Peterfreund's Secret Society Girl series, Juliet Marillier's Sevenwaters series, Graceling and Fire by Kristine Cashore, The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines, The President's Daughter series by Ellen Emerson White, The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede, and Ilona Andrews' Kate Daniels series. Among others.
What books are you giving this year?

Comments

  1. One of the books I gave this year was my friend's p.m.terrell's follow up to Songbirds Are Free, River Passage.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm giving The Hunger Games too! And The Knife of Never Letting Go, and Life As We Knew It - kind of a dystopian Christmas this year! :P

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm not giving any books this year. I don't know why, but I didn't even think about it. Horrible, I know. Girl in the Arena looks really good, though, and I don't think it's on my TBR list yet.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Diane, how lovely to be able to give a friend's book!

    Jenny, that is awesome! And a very merry dystopian Christmas to you and yours. ;)

    Brenda, I really did love it. Hope you enjoy it as well!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I couldn't think of anyone better suited for selecting that perfect book for someone special. You've listed some of my favs here and a couple that I'm giving out as well!

    Keep the fabulous recommendations coming and Merry Christmas!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love calls like that too...and it was my favorite question as a librarian.
    This year I'm giving away The Mad King (read it - you'll love it) to my husband who has read it and just wants us to own a copy....The Book Thief, I opened early the Girl in the Arena, Elantris, Doc Hollywood, A Northern Light...and I'm sure a bunch more.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Somehow I ended up being the reading black sheep of the family, but I did buy FIRE for my niece and had it signed by Kristin Cashore. I'm pretty sure she's going to love it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I gave my little sis two how-to Sewing books this year and my mom the newest William Dalrymple (she loves his books and pesters me about looking up on his website what book he has coming out). Then indirectly influenced other peoples presents. Suggested my brother buy my mom World Without End by Ken Follet because she and my dad wanted to read it, and Comeback 2.0 (about Lance Armstrong's comeback) for my husband from my mom.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Michelle, awww. :)

    Raspberry, ooh, THE MAD KING....got it.

    Janicu, awesome. I love that your mom pesters you about books she wants.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan