Skip to main content

The Gift of Books

It's that time of year again. The holiday season is in full swing and the phone at Chez Angie starts ringing off the hook. Friends and family checking in asking for book recommendations to give as gifts. For the record, these are my very favorite sort of calls to get. I love searching out the perfect book for someone, passing on the info, and then sitting back with my mug of cider and just savoring how that book will be enjoyed by that someone. If I'm extra lucky, I get to hear about it later. A lot of great books came out this year and I have enjoyed spreading the word about them. Some of them famous and some of them deserving of so much more attention than they got. As well as a host of perennial favorites. Books I'm giving away this year include: Diana Peterfreund's Secret Society Girl series, Juliet Marillier's Sevenwaters series, Graceling and Fire by Kristine Cashore, The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines, The President's Daughter series by Ellen Emerson White, The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede, and Ilona Andrews' Kate Daniels series. Among others.
What books are you giving this year?

Comments

  1. One of the books I gave this year was my friend's p.m.terrell's follow up to Songbirds Are Free, River Passage.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm giving The Hunger Games too! And The Knife of Never Letting Go, and Life As We Knew It - kind of a dystopian Christmas this year! :P

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm not giving any books this year. I don't know why, but I didn't even think about it. Horrible, I know. Girl in the Arena looks really good, though, and I don't think it's on my TBR list yet.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Diane, how lovely to be able to give a friend's book!

    Jenny, that is awesome! And a very merry dystopian Christmas to you and yours. ;)

    Brenda, I really did love it. Hope you enjoy it as well!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I couldn't think of anyone better suited for selecting that perfect book for someone special. You've listed some of my favs here and a couple that I'm giving out as well!

    Keep the fabulous recommendations coming and Merry Christmas!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love calls like that too...and it was my favorite question as a librarian.
    This year I'm giving away The Mad King (read it - you'll love it) to my husband who has read it and just wants us to own a copy....The Book Thief, I opened early the Girl in the Arena, Elantris, Doc Hollywood, A Northern Light...and I'm sure a bunch more.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Somehow I ended up being the reading black sheep of the family, but I did buy FIRE for my niece and had it signed by Kristin Cashore. I'm pretty sure she's going to love it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I gave my little sis two how-to Sewing books this year and my mom the newest William Dalrymple (she loves his books and pesters me about looking up on his website what book he has coming out). Then indirectly influenced other peoples presents. Suggested my brother buy my mom World Without End by Ken Follet because she and my dad wanted to read it, and Comeback 2.0 (about Lance Armstrong's comeback) for my husband from my mom.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Michelle, awww. :)

    Raspberry, ooh, THE MAD KING....got it.

    Janicu, awesome. I love that your mom pesters you about books she wants.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th