Skip to main content

Demon's Lexicon Gets a New Jacket

Sarah Rees Brennan has revealed the new cover the U.S. paperback of The Demon's Lexicon will be sporting come April. It represents a significant shift, I think, in style and focus from the hardback cover. I definitely like it better, though the UK cover remains my favorite. I can't help it. I even ordered my own copy. Love The Book Depository! But at the end of the day they all three have their appeal and how lucky, honestly, for such an awesome book to get three such covers? So here they are, from left to right: UK, US hardback, and US paperback. Which one's your favorite?

Comments

  1. Oh how interesting. I'm on the same page as you, Angie. I like the UK cover best ... I think it captures Nick's looks in both style and attitude. However, the upcoming US paperback is a very close second place match. The US hardcover model doesn't capture Nick's persona just right. What I do like about the US hardcover is that it showcases the talisman. This is all in my most humble opinion, of course. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous3:21 PM

    Well, seeing how I have not read the book. I am basing my opinion on the covers alone. I like the US paperback cover the best. However I do like the UK cover based on art.

    ReplyDelete
  3. UK all the way. I like the new paperback cover better than the old US one, but still not quite what I imagined for Nick.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't read this, but just looking at the cover I really like the UK version the most.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I never liked the picture of Nick with big pouty lips, so I'm glad to see it changed!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I like the UK cover best! For some reason, I don't like seeing real people in cover art. Too bad I have a US hardcover instead of the UK paperback.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Can't say I'm a fan of the paperback cover. It looks like he's trying to pull off some Zoolander face; the sucked-in cheeks are not working.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Bye bye pouty lips! I like the UK version better than all of them, but anything is better than pretty boy.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I definitely prefer the UK cover, too. But the new PB is definitely an improvement over the Harcover, in my opinion!

    ReplyDelete
  10. My vote is for the UK cover,

    ReplyDelete
  11. The US hardback remains my favorite! It's weird - I've been wanting to read this book just because of how much I love the US cover. But now, seeing the US paperback, I'm kind of turned off. It's just terrible!
    I don't know why, but it seems I am different in that I'm not really a fan of the UK cover, either.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am happy you think it's an improvement - fingers crossed readers will think so too and pick it up!

    ReplyDelete
  13. UK cover is still the best. I have this one in audiobook from the library, so thankfully I don't have to look at the US cover! Sorry Sarah, but your US covers don't do your book justice, though the new one is better than the first.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I don't really like the US paperback one. As was mentioned above, he's doing something weird with his face. It's not attractive. He's standing weird, too. It's all wrong for me. :) I think the UK cover is probably the best, although the US hardback isn't that bad, IMO.

    ReplyDelete
  15. So the UK cover definitely seems to be the consensus so far, you guys. Not that I'm biased or anything...;)

    Brizmus, don't let it turn you off so much that you don't read it! This book is stellar. No matter what jacket it's wearing. :) Grab yourself a U.S. hardback and settle in!

    Sarah, fingers definitely crossed. I personally am incapable of not picking up a book with a dude with a sword on the cover. Hopefully others are like minded. In the meantime, I will keep pimping it here, there, and everywhere. I cannot wait for COVENANT!

    Brenda, the cheeks are a bit...hollow. I agree with you and Chelle. But they kept the ravens, which made me very happy, and they added the sword, which is clearly awesome. I should just go buy myself a copy of each and call it good. Then I'd always have a lending copy available and never have to be without my own.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I think I still like the UK cover best. The US pb isn't bad, just a bit more generic. I ordered the UK version from Book Depository because I didn't like the US hardback cover. Every time I see it I think of the guy on Smallville.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I am not thrilled with the US pb cover, but it is ok enough for me to purchase for my library. I refused to purchase the HB - no way I could booktalk it with a cover like that. I just couldn't *shudder*. I can definitely do the US pb cover and will at my summer reading visits in May.

    ReplyDelete
  18. I definitely haven't read that book but I think I'm gonna give it a try and begin to read only books of my interest like The Demon's Lexicon. I've been told so many things about that book and this times I'm gonna take advantage of this reference.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Oh hell!!! You are just too cool man. I never knew that there could be something better to know about than from this piece of article. I shall have this forwarded to all my friends and even my dad, I am sure they too shall enjoy reading this piece.
    Caverta | Penegra

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…