Skip to main content

Fey Pretties


Don't these three look like they belong together? I was struck by the similarities in font (particularly with the two on the right) and just the general style and feel. I love how they look together and I am anxious to get my hands on all three.

The first in Kiernan's Moorehawke Trilogy, The Poison Throne follows young Wynter Moorehawke as she goes from a life of peaceful anonymity to a life of exile with her father and back to her homeland once more. In the five years of her absence, she finds her home changed beyond recognition and herself thrown into the middle of a kingdom tearing itself apart. I have the impression this was previously published in the UK and is now making it's US debut. Due out April 7th.

Merlin's Harp by Anne Eliot Crompton
I am a very large sucker for all things Arthurian. What can I say? I'm always on the lookout for that perfect retelling, adaptation, what have you. Merlin's Harp was originally published in 1995 and is being rather fetchingly repackaged by Sourcebooks for a new YA audience. Told from the perspective of Niviene--the Lady of the Lake's daughter and Merlin's apprentice--this revisioning of the old tale has me tapping my nails in anticipation. Due out March 1st.

The first book in the Iron Fey series, The Iron King combines elements of the previous two pretties as it follows modern young woman Meghan Chase whose life takes a drastic turn for the unknown when she discovers she is actually the daughter of faerie royalty. Word is this YA fantasy reads like The Neverending Story meets A Midsummer Night's Dream. So basically you'll want to get your hands on it the day it comes out. Which is just around the corner, btw. Due out February 1st.

Comments

  1. They do look alike! And they all look good. I'm totally drawn in (and put off) by covers.

    Which brings me to Sevenwaters- I wish the ones I had didn't have the people on them. I don't like the way they are drawn. I like to imagine them MY way.

    ReplyDelete
  2. *Anne Eliot* Crompton? Some people get all the luck with names.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Susie, I agree. I love the Celtic scrollwork and such, but they never look the way I picture them. The cover for SON OF THE SHADOWS is probably my favorite with the raven and so on, but Liadan is way too severe. *sigh* How is that one coming, btw???

    Diana, I know! I just shook my head at that one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous3:59 PM

    I would frame book covers like this and hang them in my room if my hubby would let me. So beautiful.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oo, I love the Iron King one the best - it's got the nicest color palette, I think.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Those are beautiful covers! And the summaries make me want them more.

    Speaking of Arthurian books, have you read Elizabeth Wein's works? :) I love her books about Telemakos.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ooh, definitely pretties. I love the covers, and all three books sound great.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I thought I saw on Twitter the Iron King came out early..

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm reading The Iron King and so far it's really good. If the rest turns out just as great I am recommending it.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I didn't have The Poison Throne on my TBR list (probably because I'd never heard of it). Now I do. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Tiah, I am with you on that. I keep trying to figure out how I can hang a mess of framed covers all over my library walls.

    Jenny, really effective, isn't it? I'm looking forward to it.

    Chachic, I haven't. She's been on my radar for awhile. Where should I start?

    Karen, yeah, these three were particularly pretty, I thought.

    Pam, I saw that as well. I usually include the official release dates on these posts. But I absolutely love coming across one out early in the wild. :)

    Princess Allie, ooh, good to hear! I'm excited.

    Brenda, my pleasure! I'm hoping it's great because the sequel is being re-released just a couple months later.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Elibeth Wein's first book is the Winter Prince (which is out of print I think), followed by the Coalition of Lions. But you can read just the books about Telemakos, starting with The Sunbird and the duology The Lion Hunter and The Empty Kingdom. The Telemakos books have been repeatedly recommended in Sounis (the LJ community for MWT fans). Enjoy! :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. I meant to comment on this the other day, but never got to it. Just wanted to add my two cents and say that these covers are all so beautiful and magical looking, not to mention that the stories sound wonderful, too!

    The cover art to Merlin's Harp is just ... wow. Beautiful.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Chachic, sweet. Sounisian recommendations rank high on my list. ;)

    Christine, I agree. Such pretty pretties. hehe.

    ReplyDelete
  15. These covers make it look like these books belong in a series together. They're all very beautiful. I was just talking about how I wanted to read a new Arthurian novel from a female character's perspective just not in the trend of Mists of Avalon or Guenevere trilogy. Both were good in their own right and I enjoyed them. It's just a trend/formula I quickly got tired of. Also definitely going to have check out the other two. Been hankering for some new fantasy novels.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan