Skip to main content

Evening Stops

This evening I've got several interesting links for you.

First off, Liz over at A Chair, A Fireplace & a Tea Cozy has the scoop on two new Madeleine L'Engle reissues and the covers are so lovely that I have to post them here as well.
Aren't they sigh-worthy? I just love them. And since And Both Were Young is one of my favorites of her lesser-known works, I will definitely be picking up a copy. I hope these new editions and covers help both books find a new and receptive readership. They deserve it.

Second, Chelle over at Tempting Persephone has started up a new weekly feature that I think is awesome. She calls it "I  ♥ This Art" and has this to say:
I ♥ This Art is a weekly feature on Tempting Persephone. Art, no matter the medium, buoys my spirit up. Each week I’ll spotlight a piece that speaks to me, makes me want to know more, or just makes me feel.
The first spotlight she has up, "A Boy and a Girl," is so lovely. I've already been over to the artist's website and blog. Looking forward to more in this series.


Next, as you have probably heard, April of Good Books & Wine has taken on the Herculean task of putting together a Top 100 YA Books of All Time list and she's looking for our help. From now through March 17th you can stop in and nominate five titles for the list. She will then compile them all and post the list for everyone to see on the 19th. So head on over and attempt to whittle your list down to five killer titles.


Lastly, and in a similar vein, a week or so ago I joined together with several other lovely book bloggers and contributed an entry for Flashlight Worthy Books' Most Romantic Young Adult Books of All Time list. It's an extremely good list, if I do say so myself, and the blurbs each blogger wrote on their favorite pick are well worth a stop. Any guesses on the one I picked? I'm fairly predictable, right? So it can only be one of probably three titles. *grin* FYI, Flashlight Worthy is a website of themed lists of handpicked book recommendations on hundreds of topics and makes for very fun browsing. Go check them out.

Flashlight Worthy Books
the newest lists of book recommendationsthe best book recommendations are found at Flashlight Worthy
add this widget to your blog

Comments

  1. I got Camilla for Christmas and am delighted to try it out. I enjoy her more obscure works as well. I liked The Unicorns.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for posting those links! It's going to be hard to nominate just 5 books for the Top 100 YA Books of All Time. I've only read 4 books in the Flashlight Worthy list, I'm adding the rest to my wish list. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I just requested both of those L'Engle books from the library! Can't believe I'm about to admit this, but...I've never read anything by her. Also, so glad you like the new feature! :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Raspberry, excellent! I adore THE YOUNG UNICORNS. It may be my favorite in the Austin family series. Even if it doesn't have Adam. ;)

    Chachic, oh, I know! I had a horrible time and finally just had to click Submit and leave it there.

    Chelle, ooooh, *rubs hands together* you have so much win in store. If you're starting with one of the two, go with AND BOTH WERE YOUNG. I <3 it.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hey Angiegirl,
    Thanks so much for posting a link to the 100 Greatest YA Books Nomination post, I really appreciate it!! :-)

    And to thank you, I'll be adding your blog button to my blog roll :-D

    ReplyDelete
  6. April, my pleasure. I'm glad you're putting the list together! Can't wait to see what the results are.

    Thanks for adding the button, btw. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's