Skip to main content

Silver Snippet

So did you notice Patricia Briggs posted the entire first chapter of the upcoming fifth Mercy Thompson book--Silver Borne--to her website recently? I stumbled across it yesterday and let's just say it is nice and long, Adam is there (and so is Sam), and by the end I had a big, fat smile on my face. Go on. You know you want to read it...

Interestingly, Patty has the following to say about Silver Borne:
This is Samuel's book and also deals with the terrible things that can happen when you are late returning a borrowed book.
Awesome.

Comments

  1. *sigh* that just made me ridiculously happy.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I don't know why, but for some reason I never like to read sample chapters online. I prefer to just wait for the book. Even for ones that I'm insanely excited about. I'm weird that way, I guess.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the heads up - I hadn't seen that yet. It's great timing since I just finished Bone Crossed a couple of days ago.

    I'm excited to see it will be Samuel's book too.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yeah that's been up there. It makes you want it no? Like NOW?

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh actually, that's different from the snippets I saw. I saw a chapter 1 without the bit at the end with Mercy and cookies, and then another bit about Samuel.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Alicia, me too! So excited for this one.

    Brenda, not weird at all. I used to be that way across the board. But lately, with these series I'm absolutely in love with, well, I have no will power at all...

    Kristen, nice timing! And, I agree, Samuel deserves quite a bit at this point. I'm anxious to see what Briggs has in store for him.

    Janice, I love that vision she has at the end. So fun to get some of the backstory on their relationship before there was a relationship. lol.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh I loved that. Thanks for the go-to link.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Christine, wasn't it good? I just love Mercy & Adam and little peeks at their past.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan