Skip to main content

Silver Snippet

So did you notice Patricia Briggs posted the entire first chapter of the upcoming fifth Mercy Thompson book--Silver Borne--to her website recently? I stumbled across it yesterday and let's just say it is nice and long, Adam is there (and so is Sam), and by the end I had a big, fat smile on my face. Go on. You know you want to read it...

Interestingly, Patty has the following to say about Silver Borne:
This is Samuel's book and also deals with the terrible things that can happen when you are late returning a borrowed book.
Awesome.

Comments

  1. *sigh* that just made me ridiculously happy.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I don't know why, but for some reason I never like to read sample chapters online. I prefer to just wait for the book. Even for ones that I'm insanely excited about. I'm weird that way, I guess.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the heads up - I hadn't seen that yet. It's great timing since I just finished Bone Crossed a couple of days ago.

    I'm excited to see it will be Samuel's book too.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yeah that's been up there. It makes you want it no? Like NOW?

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh actually, that's different from the snippets I saw. I saw a chapter 1 without the bit at the end with Mercy and cookies, and then another bit about Samuel.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Alicia, me too! So excited for this one.

    Brenda, not weird at all. I used to be that way across the board. But lately, with these series I'm absolutely in love with, well, I have no will power at all...

    Kristen, nice timing! And, I agree, Samuel deserves quite a bit at this point. I'm anxious to see what Briggs has in store for him.

    Janice, I love that vision she has at the end. So fun to get some of the backstory on their relationship before there was a relationship. lol.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh I loved that. Thanks for the go-to link.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Christine, wasn't it good? I just love Mercy & Adam and little peeks at their past.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion, Vols. 1 & 2 by Beth Brower

I feel a bit giddy finally talking to you all about this series. If you'll remember, I fell madly in love with The Q  when it came out a few years ago. Now, Beth Brower is writing The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion — a series of novellas set in London in 1883. Each volume is an excerpt from the incorrigible Emma's journals, and the first two volumes are already available with the third on the way soon. I think they'd make rather perfect pandemic reading. Humorous and charming down to their bones, they're just what the doctor ordered to lift your spirits in this uncertain time that just proves to be too much some days. If you're experiencing one of those days, I suggest giving Volume 1   a go (it's only 99 cents on Kindle, $4.99 for a trade paperback copy). It will surprise exactly none of you that I own print and digital editions of both volumes.  Miss Emma M. Lion has waited long enough. Come hell or high water (and really, given her track record,  both a

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of