Skip to main content

"It's a Book"

Like most of you, I am so looking forward to Simone Elkeles' upcoming Rules of Attraction. And I'm sure you've seen these before but I'm posting them here because they make me happy. And they make me laugh at work. Book trailers are a tough sell for me and, for books in the same series, these two seem to have been made on different planets. But I enjoyed them both in spite of myself. Mostly because I'm silly in love with Perfect Chemistry. And because the second one indicates it will be--wait for it--a trilogy. SCORE.

Comments

  1. Glad I am not the only one that caught that it's a trilogy! :) EXCITING!!! I cant wait for this book, Perfect Chemistry was just a little peice of goodness I am sure this one will be too! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hmmm.. interracial romance? *!@&@(#. *adding to books I need to get*. !(@*#*#(. The list is getting long because of you.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Jenn, I know! I was like, WHAT?! So excited.

    Janice, LOL. You definitely need to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. So I love the "it's a book" trailer, and as much as I adored seeing a HOT Alex shirtless, I'm not as much in love with the ROA trailer because I feel like it's telling too much of the story. It's silly, but I guess I want to be as surprised as possible when I read it.

    and a trilogy? *contented sigh*

    ReplyDelete
  5. so basically this made my day today and i've decided that i need to read this book again.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Michelle, I know what you mean. The shirtlessness was excellent. But I did keep wondering if they were using all the good lines or something like that. Still, I love how involved her trailers are. Be they cheesy, dramatic, what have you.

    Alicia, I'm feeling the same urge myself...

    ReplyDelete
  7. I decided to skip watching the trailer for Rules of Attraction, because I wasn't crazy about the one for Perfect Chemistry. Fortunately, I watched for the first time *after* reading the book last summer. I don't know why, but it just rubbed me the wrong way. But the book!!.... one of my absolute favorites for 2009.

    My teen recently asked me for her own copy of Perfect Chemistry for her next birthday since we both read the library's copy, and lucky for her, Rules of Attraction comes out *on* her birthday, so.... you know what she's getting!! :)

    Good news about the trilogy. I was excited to learn the upcoming book is about Alex's little brother. Can't wait.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't read the books yet, but I really want to! I loved both these trailers : the first one was very humoristic, and the second had more of a movie feel, although I thought it probably revealed too much of the story.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Christine, I felt the same way actually. I had already read the book when the trailer became popular and I avoided watching it when I could tell how cheesy it was. But I watch it now for the "It's a book!" line. Hysterical. Though so not at all representative of the book.

    Your girl is going to be so thrilled to get them both for her birthday! Wonderful idea. I'm wondering about the third book. I'd still really like one about Isabel.

    Kay, I agree. Like Michelle said above, you don't want too much spoiled. But reading Ms. Elkeles' account of getting the second one made is rather delightful and so I enjoyed watching it just knowing how much went into it.

    No go read PERFECT CHEMISTRY! :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan