Skip to main content

"It's a Book"

Like most of you, I am so looking forward to Simone Elkeles' upcoming Rules of Attraction. And I'm sure you've seen these before but I'm posting them here because they make me happy. And they make me laugh at work. Book trailers are a tough sell for me and, for books in the same series, these two seem to have been made on different planets. But I enjoyed them both in spite of myself. Mostly because I'm silly in love with Perfect Chemistry. And because the second one indicates it will be--wait for it--a trilogy. SCORE.

Comments

  1. Glad I am not the only one that caught that it's a trilogy! :) EXCITING!!! I cant wait for this book, Perfect Chemistry was just a little peice of goodness I am sure this one will be too! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hmmm.. interracial romance? *!@&@(#. *adding to books I need to get*. !(@*#*#(. The list is getting long because of you.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Jenn, I know! I was like, WHAT?! So excited.

    Janice, LOL. You definitely need to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. So I love the "it's a book" trailer, and as much as I adored seeing a HOT Alex shirtless, I'm not as much in love with the ROA trailer because I feel like it's telling too much of the story. It's silly, but I guess I want to be as surprised as possible when I read it.

    and a trilogy? *contented sigh*

    ReplyDelete
  5. so basically this made my day today and i've decided that i need to read this book again.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Michelle, I know what you mean. The shirtlessness was excellent. But I did keep wondering if they were using all the good lines or something like that. Still, I love how involved her trailers are. Be they cheesy, dramatic, what have you.

    Alicia, I'm feeling the same urge myself...

    ReplyDelete
  7. I decided to skip watching the trailer for Rules of Attraction, because I wasn't crazy about the one for Perfect Chemistry. Fortunately, I watched for the first time *after* reading the book last summer. I don't know why, but it just rubbed me the wrong way. But the book!!.... one of my absolute favorites for 2009.

    My teen recently asked me for her own copy of Perfect Chemistry for her next birthday since we both read the library's copy, and lucky for her, Rules of Attraction comes out *on* her birthday, so.... you know what she's getting!! :)

    Good news about the trilogy. I was excited to learn the upcoming book is about Alex's little brother. Can't wait.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't read the books yet, but I really want to! I loved both these trailers : the first one was very humoristic, and the second had more of a movie feel, although I thought it probably revealed too much of the story.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Christine, I felt the same way actually. I had already read the book when the trailer became popular and I avoided watching it when I could tell how cheesy it was. But I watch it now for the "It's a book!" line. Hysterical. Though so not at all representative of the book.

    Your girl is going to be so thrilled to get them both for her birthday! Wonderful idea. I'm wondering about the third book. I'd still really like one about Isabel.

    Kay, I agree. Like Michelle said above, you don't want too much spoiled. But reading Ms. Elkeles' account of getting the second one made is rather delightful and so I enjoyed watching it just knowing how much went into it.

    No go read PERFECT CHEMISTRY! :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …