Skip to main content

Beguiling Pretties


This is romance novelist Sophie Jordan's YA debut and word is it's the first in a series. Having never read any of Jordan's work, I'm interested to see how she fits on the YA scene. One of the draki--descendants of dragonshifters--Jacinda has the rare ability to breathe fire. When she and her family escape to live among humans, she finds herself drawn to a young man whose family hunts her kind. Gotta love the hint of scales around her eye. Due out September 7th.

heartless by Anne Elisabeth Stengl
I can't help myself with this cover, you guys. I love it. I love everything about it. All I really feel the need to mention about this one is that the main character's name is Princess Una of Parumvir. That alone should be enough, yes? No? Well, she's got some suitors and one of them is rather dashing while the other is a bit stodgy (but well-meaning!). Oh, and there is a dragon. Or at least the threat of one. Interestingly, the subtitle is "Tales of Goldstone Wood." I like it. Due out July 1st.

Wildthorn by Jane Eagland
Originally published in the UK last year, Wildthorn is on its way across the pond this fall. This one looks a bit darker, as the main character is a young Victorian woman who is sent to an insane asylum for daring to be different. They change her clothes, they change her name, they attempt to wipe away everything about her, but somehow, despite betrayal upon betrayal, seventeen-year-old Louisa Cosgrove must find the key to freedom. I have to say, I'm so there. Due out September 6th.

Comments

  1. I love that cover for Heartless! The cover for Wildthorn scared me at first glance, because I thought it was a neck instead of a waist, and it just looked creepy.

    ReplyDelete
  2. They ARE gorgeous, and thanks for the additions to my TBR pile.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous10:51 AM

    Are you going to BEA this year? I noticed Firelight is one of the books being featured at the YA Editor Buzz panel. If I can make it to the signing scheduled at the same time, I'd like to attend.

    I'm curious about all three books. I especially like the cover for Heartless.

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  4. Those really qualifies as pretties :) I have all three on my wishlist(not just because they have pretty covers of course).

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thank you for giving us such great things to look forward to! I'm particularly thrilled about the first two books! The covers are insanely gorgeous. Marking on goodreads so I don't forget about them when they're released.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wildthorn sounds very interesting. That one is going on my tbr list

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oooh, Heartless is beautiful and sounds interesting. That one has been added to my wishlist. Thanks for sharing the pretties.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Brenda, yikes! I'm glad it's not a neck. But the corset is still pretty wince-inducing.

    Raspberry, you bet. I'm excited about three new-to-me authors.

    Karen, YES! I am. We need to make sure to hook up. We should try to go to that one together. :)

    Ladybug, lol, of course.

    Isabelle, good idea. I've marked them down on my release calendar as well. And those first two really are lovely.

    Sullivan, I thought so as well. Harrowing, but fascinating.

    Kerry, my pleasure! I just sat and admired the cover of HEARTLESS when I first saw it.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Beguiling indeed! I especially love the cover of Firelight and the story sounds great, too! Actually, they all sound very intriguing. Thanks, Angie.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Anonymous3:31 PM

    I'm jumping on the Firelight wagon. That's my favorite cover of the three. Such cool details with the eyes and the scales. Thanks for posting these!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I love the Firelight cover! And the premise looks interesting as well.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Christine, particularly pretty this set. I'm very interested in all three.

    Nikki, yep. The scales and her hair make it. :)

    Chachic, that seems to be the consensus. It is great.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I LOVE the Heartless cover. And the other two are beautiful as well. I actually chose Heartless as my Waiting on Wednesday post this week!;)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Anonymous10:36 AM

    Angie, I think Maria Snyder is signing Spy Glass and Jeri Smith-Ready is signing Shade at the same time as the YA Editor Buzz panel! That's a tough call.

    It looks like the books on the panel will include Firelight, Infinite Days, Plain Kate. Matched and The Duff. I'm only interested in Firelight and The Duff so far.

    We should definitely hook up. I'm sure we'll be on a lot of the same lines, but during our lulls there's no reason why we should wander around alone!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Anonymous10:37 AM

    By the way, that comment above is from me - KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  16. Chantele, nice choice! :)

    Karen, yikes. That is a tough call. I really want to meet Jeri and, yeah, FIRELIGHT is the only one really interesting me on that panel. Well, either way will hook up and wander together. And chat in lines. :) I'm so excited!!

    ReplyDelete
  17. good article
    thank you for your post

    ReplyDelete
  18. Totally gorgeous covers!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan