Skip to main content

Dark Road to Darjeeling Cover

Wow. I wondered what direction they'd take the cover for the fourth Lady Julia Grey novel in and I have to say I am thoroughly pleased with the result. It's not at all what I was expecting, but I think it sort of melds the two different cover themes they had going nicely. I was a huge fan of the two original mysteriously Victorian covers with their hint of splendor and their Gothic buildings and faces hidden under hoods. The newer reissues took me a bit by surprise with their more modern, enticing air. And that's why I think this is a lovely compromise. We've been so fortunate this year with two Deanna Raybourn books coming out and I am already counting down the days until the release of Dark Road to Darjeeling--due out October 1st!

Comments

  1. Sounds interesting :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm really excited for the new Lady Julia Grey book..it's been so long since I finished the others it feels like..

    ReplyDelete
  3. Love this cover. And the title.

    I have yet to read this series, but it is on my list!!! I promise!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Bookaholic, if you haven't read SILENT IN THE GRAVE yet I highly recommend it. Then you'll know for sure if this is a series you want to dive into.

    Heather, it really does feel like a long time, doesn't it? I need to go back and re-read SILENT ON THE MOOR for the first time so I'm ready!

    bish, oh, I'm so pleased to hear that! It's a great series, isn't it? I'm incredibly fond of Lady Julia and Brisbane.

    And that Amazon thing is pretty widespread apparently. I saw several other books with the same issue yesterday. Some of it's pretty hysterical, as you said. hehe.

    Christine, just lovely, isn't it? And you need to get on this series. You will NOT regret it. They are delicious. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Just found your book blog through another one and I'm liking it. I loved the first 3 Julia Grey novels too and can't wait for this one. The original covers are what drew me to the series in the first place.

    ReplyDelete
  6. *Squeeeeee!!!* I am SO excited for this!!! I'm about to start THE DEAD TRAVEL FAST...can't wait! Between this Lady Julia book, and the new Russell/Holmes coming out this month, I am all a tremor! :)
    ELizabeth

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous7:59 AM

    Oh, that's pretty. I'm also a fan of the original covers for the first two books and have considered ordering the UK editions. (Have you ordered them?) This cover for the fourth book is a nice compromise. And I really can't wait!

    I've been holding on to my copy of The Dead Travel Fast to read after the Julia Grey. I know I'll want to read a new Deanna Raybourn soon after Darjeeling, so it will be nice to have one on the TBR pile waiting.

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  8. Misti, welcome! We're so glad you're here. :) And I agree. The original covers were just perfect. I'm so sad they're gone now. Though, as Karen mentions below, the UK covers are delightful as well and a nice substitute for the original US ones. They have a bit more playful flair, I think.

    Elizabeth, thanks for the reminder on the Russell/Holmes one! I'm so ready for a new adventure with them.

    Karen, *sigh* I haven't yet. The funds...they are always low. But I'm afraid they'll disappear from The Book Depository before I get around to it. I need to.

    You're smart to save THE DEAD TRAVEL FAST. So nice to have something to soften the blow...

    ReplyDelete
  9. oooooo.... that cover is GORgeous!

    ReplyDelete
  10. That is one gorgeous cover....but I can't help but wonder why they've been all over the place with covers for the series. There's even a totally different cover take if you look at her page at Amazon for Silent on the Moor:

    http://www.amazon.com/Silent-Moor-MIRA-Deanna-Raybourn/dp/0778303047/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpi_2

    AND Silent in the Sanctuary and Silent in the Grave have totally different covers on Amazon then the ones you've linked here. I find all the cover switching a bit dizzying.

    Did the books switch publishers, maybe? All I know is it makes it pretty hard for me to keep track of the series.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Cam, I know. So pretty...

    KMont, it's a bit crazy. They started off with the covers I linked to for the first two books. Then they decided they wanted to attract some romance readers that might not pick up the other covers because they looked too "literary" so they did the SILENT ON THE MOOR cover featuring a bit of Brisbane. Which is nice but the whole pose thing doesn't work for those of us who have loved and read these books. Just doesn't look quite right, you know? Then they re-issued the first two with similar covers to create a series look after the fact. I think there was enough of a backlash from loyal readers that they produced this one for DARK ROAD TO DARJEELING as a compromise between the two. The covers you linked to are the UK versions and they really are lovely, aren't they? I've been wanting to order them for awhile now but never had the ready funds. But they're not available here in the US. They are through The Book Depository, though.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I'm excited about the cover. I like it a lot more than the last one too. I'm eagerly looking forward to this book. :)
    On a side note I love the picture you have from North and South. Such a great movie. The part where he begs her to turn back and look at him. *swoon* You have excellent taste. :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oooh, OK. I keep forgetting that overseas versions get their own covers. *facepalm* Whatever the craziness with different versions, I think all have been nice. :D

    ReplyDelete
  14. Lani, it's SUCH a great movie. That scene kills me every time. And, yes, I have watched it, ahem, several times.

    KMont, yeah, they have. I still prefer the originals, but as long as she keeps writing them I'll buy them no matter what they're wrapped in. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan