Skip to main content

A Marillier & a Shinn: Part II

It's a coverpalooza here today! But I couldn't hold back with these two. They've been bumping around the nets for a little while now but only in small-ish versions and I was waiting for the nice big ones to highlight. You see, they're kind of heavy hitters for me. And for the past couple of years they've been consistently sending my little heart into pitterpats of joy by both releasing books in the fall.


First off, Juliet Marillier is continuing on with her wonderful Sevenwaters series and this year her offering is the sequel to Heir to Sevenwaters--a Best of 2008 book for me--with Seer of Sevenwaters. This one follows Clodagh's younger sister Sibeal:

The young seer Sibeal is visiting an island of elite warriors, prior to making her final pledge as a druid. It’s there she finds Felix, a survivor of a Viking shipwreck, who’s lost his memory. The scholarly Felix and Sibeal form a natural bond. He could even be her soul mate, but Sibeal’s vocation is her true calling, and her heart must answer.

As Felix fully regains his memory, Sibeal has a runic divination showing her that Felix must go on a perilous mission — and that she will join him. The rough waters and the sea creatures they will face are no match for Sibeal’s own inner turmoil. She must choose between the two things that tug at her soul — her spirituality and a chance at love. . .
Even cooler, check out that cover blurb. Yup. That's a Book Smuggler quote. Way to go, Thea!!! 
Seer of Sevenwaters is due out December 7th. 

Next, Sharon Shinn is starting the first in a new series. Those particular words are music to my ears. I discovered Shinn through her excellent Samaria series and, when she started the Twelve Houses saga, I worried whether or not I would like it as well. It's always that way after the first time you fall, isn't it? Well, she blew me away with Mystic & Rider and Senneth and Tayse and their trusty companions. And now that that series is completed, I look forward to Troubled Waters with much anticipation and excitement. The blurb:


Zoe Ardelay receives astonishing and unwelcome news: she has been chosen to become the king’s fifth wife. Forced to go to the royal city, she manages to slip away and hide on the shores of the mighty river.

It’s there that Zoe realizes she is a coru prime ruled by the elemental sign of water. She must return to the palace, not as an unwilling bride for the king, but a woman with power in her own right. But as Zoe unlocks more of the mysteries of her blood — and the secrets of the royal family — she must decide how to use her great power to rise above the deceptions and intrigue of the royal court.
I can't wait to meet Zoe and watch her come into her powers.

Troubled Waters is due out October 5th. 

Comments

  1. Thanks for these reading leads and the many others you supply. I don't follow all of them, but there are more than enough to keep me intrigued and at least checking out fantasy authors new to me.

    ReplyDelete
  2. The Shinn book sounds interesting

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh fun! I love Juliet Marillier - I still haven't read DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST yet... thanks for sharing :D

    ReplyDelete
  4. Seems interesting :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love that Shinn blurb. And the first in a new series? Even better.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous8:08 AM

    I didn't know the Twelve Houses saga is finished. I bought Mystic and Rider a while ago, but haven't read it. I've mentioned to you before that I also bought Archangel. I'd better start catching up soon! Looking forward to reading both Sharon Shinn and Juliet Marriler for the first time. (I bought Heart's Blood in hardcover, but had a feeling you didn't love it from a comment you made a while ago. Did you?)

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  7. Bish, it's my pleasure. I'm happy you've found some that work. What have been your favorite fantasy reads?

    Sullivan, it does, doesn't it? She's particularly good, I think, on the creation of worlds level. Always coming up with interesting and fresh things.

    Amelia, I don't think I heard you right. You haven't read DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST yet!?! But...I...you simply must! :)

    bookaholic, lol, I think so.

    Li, I know. I'm getting the good vibe as well. Can't wait!

    Karen, I honestly can't wait to hear what you think of those two. Both so different (and very different tones) but both so great.

    You know it's embarrassing but I still haven't finished HEART'S BLOOD. I think I went into a weird place mid-read and decided to come back to it when I felt myself again. I think it's definitely time. I wasn't not liking it, I was just distracted, I think. But if you are going to start on Marillier, promise me you'll do it with DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST. It's the only place to start. Truly. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am SO excited!! I've loved Marillier's novels for a long time, but Shinn is in my top 10 authors!! These are two books that I'll probably be preordering because I KNOW that I'll love them!!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm fairly new to the fantasy field, coming from years of reading/writing in the mystery field.

    I'm not too hooked into the urban fantasy genre, but I'm trying different series because I am intrigued by much of it.

    I really like some of the young adult stuff, particularly Tamara Pierce, John Flanagan, and Cinda Williams Chima.

    As for harder fantasy, I don't think you can beat David Gemmell or Dave Duncan.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sara, total pre-orders. I agree! Isn't Shinn awesome? Which are your favorites?

    Bish, a Tamora Pierce fan! That makes me happy. I have one of Cinda Williams' Chima's books on my TBR right now and I keep meaning to bump it up. Glad to hear you recommend her.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan