Skip to main content

On Gifts, the Giving of

Sunday was Mother's Day and it was a very relaxing day indeed. The weather was nice, the lilacs out back were blooming their little purple hearts out, and my boy gave me a plant he'd been secretly growing in his Kindergarten classroom along with the plant journal he'd been keeping on its progress from a seedling to its present robust state.
He's sweet the way only a six-year-old boy can be. 

DH gave me an armband in which to put my iPod, along with some spiffy in-ear, noise-isolating headphones so that I might properly listen to my carefully crafted playlists while I bike to work and back. I should probably note that in our home, headphones are the gift of kings. Behold, Aaron's headphone rack:
He's sweet the way only a dedicated audiophile who loves me can be. 

And lastly my sister-in-law Liza surprised me with a small white bag containing this:
(front) 
(back)
She's sweet the way only a sister & kindred spirit can be. 
The quote is (famously) from Pride & Prejudice. The mug can be purchased here.
The gift givers are mine.

Comments

  1. How nice and very well thought out by the people who obviously care for you!
    Thanks for sharing your goodies! Enjoy...

    Jackie b central texas

    ReplyDelete
  2. Your sister was so nice with the coffee cup as a gift. My hubby gave me perfume

    ReplyDelete
  3. Aw the plant and plant journal is adorable and that is very lovely writing for a kindergartner :)

    I have those headphones they are fabulous and great on planes too.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The mug is seriously cute! I love the kid art on the front of your son’s plant journal :) I’m impressed he was able to keep it a secret. My 5 year old is not capable of keeping a secret longer than 15 minutes ;) I knew everything I was getting for Mother’s Day thanks to her “mom let me whisper something in your ear” LOL

    ReplyDelete
  5. I WANT THAT MUG.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Jackie, yep, they're keepers. All three of 'em. :)

    Arlene, nice! Did he pick it out on his own?

    Alexa, good to know! I'll give them a whirl on the plane to NY in a couple weeks.

    Mama, LOL. Mine struggled pretty hard not to spill the beans. He kept telling me he had something for me at school, but somehow managed to keep it a secret. Your daughter sounds so cute.

    Holly, *grin* I actually teared up when I read it. Guess that shows how much that book means to me.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Happy Mother's Day, Angie. You received some VERY nice gifts. Will's journal looks perfect. :D Before you know it, Piper will be joining him in the homemade card and gift making. My favorite kind.

    I have to say that Mother's Day is becoming one of my favorite holidays. tee hee!

    I was gifted some very pretty tulips, a homemade candle from my youngest, a beautiful card with the most beautiful poem from my teen about me and our mother-daughter relationship. Talk about tears! And from my husband, I got a macro lens for my camera. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Aw it's adorable how the headphones are lined up in order of size...there's even one for your son! That's so cute :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. Such lovely gifts! Happy Mother's Day, Angie. :) I got my mom a book and a cake (which, fortunately, she was able to try before my brother finished it off).

    ReplyDelete
  10. Anonymous6:40 AM

    I loved this spiffy in-ear, noise-isolating headphones (I have been asking for them for ages now, hopefully my birthday). I was looking at pics on DH (WOW! they are really good), guess we have another thing in common:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/stedl

    ReplyDelete
  11. Christine, those are some wonderful gifts! And a macro lens...veeeery nice.

    Amy, lol. There are ones for every size and shape of person.

    Chachic, yep. Gave both my mom and mom-in-law books as well. A CONSPIRACY OF KINGS...

    Emily, they are awesome, aren't they? And I *love* your pics! Wow. I had no idea you were a photographer. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. :) I'm behind on your blog. I didn't even get in on the giveaway and your great review of Demon's Covenant that I totally want to read.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Liza, you get to borrow my copy. Just one of the many benefits provided here at Angieville. ;)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…