Skip to main content

On Gifts, the Giving of

Sunday was Mother's Day and it was a very relaxing day indeed. The weather was nice, the lilacs out back were blooming their little purple hearts out, and my boy gave me a plant he'd been secretly growing in his Kindergarten classroom along with the plant journal he'd been keeping on its progress from a seedling to its present robust state.
He's sweet the way only a six-year-old boy can be. 

DH gave me an armband in which to put my iPod, along with some spiffy in-ear, noise-isolating headphones so that I might properly listen to my carefully crafted playlists while I bike to work and back. I should probably note that in our home, headphones are the gift of kings. Behold, Aaron's headphone rack:
He's sweet the way only a dedicated audiophile who loves me can be. 

And lastly my sister-in-law Liza surprised me with a small white bag containing this:
(front) 
(back)
She's sweet the way only a sister & kindred spirit can be. 
The quote is (famously) from Pride & Prejudice. The mug can be purchased here.
The gift givers are mine.

Comments

  1. How nice and very well thought out by the people who obviously care for you!
    Thanks for sharing your goodies! Enjoy...

    Jackie b central texas

    ReplyDelete
  2. Your sister was so nice with the coffee cup as a gift. My hubby gave me perfume

    ReplyDelete
  3. Aw the plant and plant journal is adorable and that is very lovely writing for a kindergartner :)

    I have those headphones they are fabulous and great on planes too.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The mug is seriously cute! I love the kid art on the front of your son’s plant journal :) I’m impressed he was able to keep it a secret. My 5 year old is not capable of keeping a secret longer than 15 minutes ;) I knew everything I was getting for Mother’s Day thanks to her “mom let me whisper something in your ear” LOL

    ReplyDelete
  5. I WANT THAT MUG.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Jackie, yep, they're keepers. All three of 'em. :)

    Arlene, nice! Did he pick it out on his own?

    Alexa, good to know! I'll give them a whirl on the plane to NY in a couple weeks.

    Mama, LOL. Mine struggled pretty hard not to spill the beans. He kept telling me he had something for me at school, but somehow managed to keep it a secret. Your daughter sounds so cute.

    Holly, *grin* I actually teared up when I read it. Guess that shows how much that book means to me.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Happy Mother's Day, Angie. You received some VERY nice gifts. Will's journal looks perfect. :D Before you know it, Piper will be joining him in the homemade card and gift making. My favorite kind.

    I have to say that Mother's Day is becoming one of my favorite holidays. tee hee!

    I was gifted some very pretty tulips, a homemade candle from my youngest, a beautiful card with the most beautiful poem from my teen about me and our mother-daughter relationship. Talk about tears! And from my husband, I got a macro lens for my camera. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Aw it's adorable how the headphones are lined up in order of size...there's even one for your son! That's so cute :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. Such lovely gifts! Happy Mother's Day, Angie. :) I got my mom a book and a cake (which, fortunately, she was able to try before my brother finished it off).

    ReplyDelete
  10. Anonymous6:40 AM

    I loved this spiffy in-ear, noise-isolating headphones (I have been asking for them for ages now, hopefully my birthday). I was looking at pics on DH (WOW! they are really good), guess we have another thing in common:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/stedl

    ReplyDelete
  11. Christine, those are some wonderful gifts! And a macro lens...veeeery nice.

    Amy, lol. There are ones for every size and shape of person.

    Chachic, yep. Gave both my mom and mom-in-law books as well. A CONSPIRACY OF KINGS...

    Emily, they are awesome, aren't they? And I *love* your pics! Wow. I had no idea you were a photographer. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. :) I'm behind on your blog. I didn't even get in on the giveaway and your great review of Demon's Covenant that I totally want to read.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Liza, you get to borrow my copy. Just one of the many benefits provided here at Angieville. ;)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th