Skip to main content

Trapped Pretties


The girls on these three covers struck me and stuck in my mind because they're all three trapped in one way or another. One in a frame, one in a bubble (or glass ball), and one in sleep. That middle one really is something. I love the light and shape and color--it just works on all levels. I can't wait to find out more about them and get my hands on them when they come out. Here's a little more information:

Wildwing by Emily Whitman
This is the second offering by Emily Whitman--author of last year's Radiant Darkness. Which I still have not read despite it being a retelling of the Persephone myth I love so much. There is really no excuse for this as I've read several good reviews of it as well. It's time to fix that. Instead of finding herself trapped in the underworld, Whitman's young Abby winds up trapped in the past. There are mistaken identities, blue-eyed falconers, intrigue, and beautiful gowns. It's all very exciting. Wildwing is due out October 1st.

Matched by Ally Condie
Now, I've never read a book by Ally Condie and I'm thinking this one is going to be my first. Heretofore she's written mostly contemporary young adult fiction. But this one has a twist. The seventeen-year-old protagonist is awaiting the decision of the "Society." The will tell her who she will marry, who she is most "matched" to. Unfortunately, her heart has other plans in mind. I'm hoping for a nice subversive, dystopian slant here. We'll see what we get. Matched is due out November 30th.

When Rose Wakes by Christopher Golden
It's been awhile since I picked up a Christopher Golden book and the man has been busy since last I read him. There's little available information on When Rose Wakes but that it's a modern day Sleeping Beauty retelling and that the main character wakes from a coma to and begins to realize she's living the fairy tale. I've read good and bad modernized fairy tales, but knowing Golden this one will be a good one. My favorite Sleeping Beauty retelling is currently Spindle's End. I look forward to a new one. When Rose Wakes is due out September 28th.

Comments

  1. I am looking forward to all of these as well. I didn't know Ally Condie had previous books. For some reason, I thought she was a deb.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous10:22 AM

    I am also looking forward to MATCHED (my most anticipated book this year, aside from A CONSPIRACY OF KINGS), and thank you for WILDWING and WHEN ROSE WAKES. I will have to check that out.

    Lenore, I think Ally is a debut in the YA market. Her previously published books were for LDS market.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I was wondering if/when Emily Whitman was going to release a new book. Thanks for the heads-up on that! I'm definitely going to have to get my hands on it. Oh, and I'm also really looking forward to MATCHED! It looks fantastic.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Lenore, Sandy's right. It looks like her previous books were published by Deseret Books. So this is her first mainstream publication.

    Sandy, have you read CONSPIRACY yet?? It's sooo good.

    Chelle, I really have to get to RADIANT DARKNESS. And MATCHED really does look promising. I'm excited for this fall!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I didn't notice that until now but you're right! (and these are all books that I'm waiting for!) ESPECIALLY MATCHED. *WANT*

    ReplyDelete
  6. Very observant!! They look like good books!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I hadn't heard of Wildwing or When Rose Wakes, but I'm definitely waiting for Matched. It looks really interesting, both from the cover and the synopsis.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I cannot wait to read When Rose Wakes by Christopher Golden. Golden's my favorite contemporary author.

    ReplyDelete
  9. All three sound good. I don’t know how I’ll find time to read all the new releases on my TBR shelf.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Pirate, it sounds like MATCHED is on several people's lists. Can't wait to see what the reaction is.

    Elise, they do. Each quite different from the other but intriguing in their own ways.

    Samantha, agreed. I think she really lucked out in the cover department. It will draw a lot of readers in.

    Little Willow, I was thinking of you when I came across that one. It really does look awesome. Already looking forward to your review. :)

    Mama, I know. The eternal question...

    ReplyDelete
  11. Love the Wildwing cover.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Anonymous12:17 AM

    Sadly, I haven't read CONSPIRACY yet -- I'm saving it as an after-finals gift for myself (one more day!). I'm kind of terrified -- after this, I'll have to wait years again for the next book!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Vanessa, yes, the whole frame thing works.

    Sandy, smart. It's great to have one of those irresistible carrots to hold out in front of yourself at times like that. But I know what you mean. I'm sort of praying the next one will come...a little faster! For all our sakes.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Both the cover and your description of Matched are making me want it now. Why can't it be out yet?!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Cat, I know. It's so hard this waiting...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan