Skip to main content

What I'm Going to Read: Round 2

Alrighty. The randomly selected winner is Northlander by Meg Burden as suggested by Charlotte!

I actually already own this book and just haven't gotten around to reading it yet. So this works out well. I've heard lots of good things and I just love Charlotte's reviews and recommendations. Looking forward to it!

Here is the full list of suggestions:
Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork (sbjames)
The Light of Asteria: Kailmeyra's Last Hope by Elizabeth Isaacs (Book Crazy Jenn)
A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliott (Katy)
The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner (lustyreader)
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Holly)
Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer (Emily)
Nothing But Blue Skies by Tom Holt (Diana)
Spellbent by Lucy A. Snyder (Sullivan McPig)
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer (Lauren Jean and Michelle)
Except the Queen by Jane Yolen and Midori Snyder (Christine)
Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (Bookie)
Touched by an Alien by Gini Koch (MarnieColette)
Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse (Julie (ASmAcc))
Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman (Ellyl)
Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson (Kristi)
Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews (Christina)
Madapple by Christina Meldrum (Emily)
Audrey Wait! by Robyn Benway (KarenS)
Cotillion by Georgette Heyer (Li)
Prom Dates from Hell by Rosemary Clement-Moore (Emily)
Precious Bane by Mary Webb (melissa @ 1lbr)
The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde (JoLee)
The Will of the Empress by Tamora Pierce (Amy)
A Girl Named Disaster by Nancy Farmer (Ceci)
Transformation by Carol Berg (Kristen)
A Stranger to Command by Sherwood Smith (Chachic)
The City in the Lake by Rachel Neumeier (Chelle)
The Smart One and the Pretty One by Claire LeZebnik (Ginger)
Nobody's Princess by Esther Friesner (Rosey)
Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony (Alexa)
A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers (pirate penguin)
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead (Alison)
Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman (Lan Nguyen)
Katherine by Anya Seton (Suey)
Brother to Dragons, Companion to Owls by Jane Lindskold (Kerry)
Garden Spells, etcby Sarah Addison Allen (Tiffany M.)
French Kiss by Sarra Manning (emilyandherlittlepinknotes.com)
The Karma Club by Jessica Brody (Britt)
One for the Morning Glory by John Barnes (ladyjoust)
A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (Lorraine)
Fat Cat by Robin Brande (Jacqueline C)

Even more than last time! You guys are awesome.

Of these, I have already read:
Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork (my review)
Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews (!)
The Circle series by Tamora Pierce
Garden Spells, The Sugar Queen, and The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen (my reviews here, here, and here)

All right. I'm gonna try to get to Northlander as soon as I can. Thanks for your wonderful input, all of you!

Comments

  1. Anonymous10:10 AM

    Magic Bleeds! Wow, right? Looking forward to your review of it.

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  2. Karen, WOW. So much wow...

    ReplyDelete
  3. What a terrific list! I meant to throw in a suggestion, but the week just got away from me!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh, I hope you like Northlander!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Janssen, I really do love all the suggestions that fly in. Thanks again for starting this great feature.

    Charlotte, me too! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wow, so many suggestions! I hope you get around to reading A Stranger to Command even though it didn't get chosen. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan