Skip to main content

What I'm Going to Read: Round 2

Alrighty. The randomly selected winner is Northlander by Meg Burden as suggested by Charlotte!

I actually already own this book and just haven't gotten around to reading it yet. So this works out well. I've heard lots of good things and I just love Charlotte's reviews and recommendations. Looking forward to it!

Here is the full list of suggestions:
Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork (sbjames)
The Light of Asteria: Kailmeyra's Last Hope by Elizabeth Isaacs (Book Crazy Jenn)
A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliott (Katy)
The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner (lustyreader)
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Holly)
Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer (Emily)
Nothing But Blue Skies by Tom Holt (Diana)
Spellbent by Lucy A. Snyder (Sullivan McPig)
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer (Lauren Jean and Michelle)
Except the Queen by Jane Yolen and Midori Snyder (Christine)
Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (Bookie)
Touched by an Alien by Gini Koch (MarnieColette)
Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse (Julie (ASmAcc))
Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman (Ellyl)
Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson (Kristi)
Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews (Christina)
Madapple by Christina Meldrum (Emily)
Audrey Wait! by Robyn Benway (KarenS)
Cotillion by Georgette Heyer (Li)
Prom Dates from Hell by Rosemary Clement-Moore (Emily)
Precious Bane by Mary Webb (melissa @ 1lbr)
The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde (JoLee)
The Will of the Empress by Tamora Pierce (Amy)
A Girl Named Disaster by Nancy Farmer (Ceci)
Transformation by Carol Berg (Kristen)
A Stranger to Command by Sherwood Smith (Chachic)
The City in the Lake by Rachel Neumeier (Chelle)
The Smart One and the Pretty One by Claire LeZebnik (Ginger)
Nobody's Princess by Esther Friesner (Rosey)
Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony (Alexa)
A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers (pirate penguin)
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead (Alison)
Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman (Lan Nguyen)
Katherine by Anya Seton (Suey)
Brother to Dragons, Companion to Owls by Jane Lindskold (Kerry)
Garden Spells, etcby Sarah Addison Allen (Tiffany M.)
French Kiss by Sarra Manning (emilyandherlittlepinknotes.com)
The Karma Club by Jessica Brody (Britt)
One for the Morning Glory by John Barnes (ladyjoust)
A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (Lorraine)
Fat Cat by Robin Brande (Jacqueline C)

Even more than last time! You guys are awesome.

Of these, I have already read:
Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork (my review)
Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews (!)
The Circle series by Tamora Pierce
Garden Spells, The Sugar Queen, and The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen (my reviews here, here, and here)

All right. I'm gonna try to get to Northlander as soon as I can. Thanks for your wonderful input, all of you!

Comments

  1. Anonymous10:10 AM

    Magic Bleeds! Wow, right? Looking forward to your review of it.

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  2. Karen, WOW. So much wow...

    ReplyDelete
  3. What a terrific list! I meant to throw in a suggestion, but the week just got away from me!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh, I hope you like Northlander!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Janssen, I really do love all the suggestions that fly in. Thanks again for starting this great feature.

    Charlotte, me too! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wow, so many suggestions! I hope you get around to reading A Stranger to Command even though it didn't get chosen. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …