Skip to main content

Books I Love

Today you can find me over at Book Chick City talking about a few of my favorite books. As part of her fortnightly Books We Love feature, Carolyn invited me to blather on a bit about one or two of my most beloved reads. Any guesses as to which author or books I picked? Make sure to stop in and say hi!

Comments

  1. Nice post! I too am a huge fan of McKinley, so it was great to read how your obsession started. Can't wait for Pegasus!

    ReplyDelete
  2. celi.a, thanks! I know. I'm so excited about PEGASUS!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous9:15 PM

    Robin McKinley was the one who started my lifelong love of fantasy novels, I'm sure. I remember wanting to cry after finishing the Blue Sword in elementary school. I was both sad and happy, and it'd just been SO REAL!

    That edition of Rose Daughter is BEAUTIFUL! Might I ask where/how you obtained such a treasure?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Emily, I know what you mean. Somehow her versions of fairy tales feel incredibly real to me, too.

    And I discovered the book when I was browsing editions of ROSE DAUGHTER on Amazon a couple years ago. I clicked on this mysterious illustrated edition. You can also purchase it through the gallery's website itself here. Same price either place. My mother-in-law actually surprised me with it for my birthday. It ain't cheap, but it's even more beautiful in person than you can imagine. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan